Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Addis Ababa

9/10
287
Overtoom 337, 1054 JM Amsterdam
Ethiopian
Average price €27

Addis Ababa

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9/10
Excellent287 reviews
9.3/10

Food

9.1/10

Service

8.3/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet
  • Leayne P.1 review

    4 July 2024

    10/10

    The food and service was amazing. First time eating this type of food and it was delicious. The owners were so welcoming and kind and helps us with the menu. What a highlight of our trip.

  • Line D.3 reviews

    23 July 2023

    10/10

    The service was amazing and the food excellent

  • Emrah B.18 reviews

    9 July 2023

    9/10

    Revisiting Addis Ababa was a delight! Having experienced many cuisines drawing inspiration from the Ethiopian Cuisine, this one place really touches the sweet spot in the versatility and richness of the flavours. We decided to mix the traditional dish with the Assa (fish) dish and were surprised with a presentation of a big plate where each dish was arranged/presented on half of the plate. The service was friendly and the atmosphere was calm! Definitely a recommendation to visit :))

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Lev T.63 reviews

    27 December 2022

    9/10

    The food was really delicious and service very kind ????

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Maria R.1 review

    26 October 2022

    8/10

    We really liked it. It was nicer on the inside than the photos implied. Good food and drinks. Very nice service but quite slow. Would recommend. Thanks

  • Stefano C.2 reviews

    19 August 2022

    6/10

    Good food as also good Ethiopian coffe

  • Nerina Y.1 review

    13 August 2022

    5/10

    We went here as the reviews were sounding good and we love this cuisine. The prices were good and the food was presented fine but the food was not very tasty. Disappointed.

  • Katherine A.6 reviews

    11 June 2022

    10/10

    Always delicious and welcoming! Our favorite Ethiopian restaurant in Amsterdam.

  • Jill M.2 reviews

    7 April 2022

    10/10

    We enjoyed discovering food from a country we'd not found before. It was very tasty and the injera were very different to other bread/pancakes etc.

  • Katherine A.6 reviews

    12 March 2022

    10/10

    Delicious, intimate and run by a wonderful family. One of our favorite spots in Amsterdam

  • Anuj B.1 review

    6 March 2022

    10/10

    It was an amazing experience. I have been at this restaurant in the past and the quality has been always good and consistent. I would definitely recommend the place to all.

  • Cristina M.

    Cristina M.45 reviews

    10 November 2021

    10/10

    Very good food and experience

  • Peter W.5 reviews

    5 November 2021

    10/10

    Delicious food, friendly service, and homey atmosphere. Nice range of drinks and desserts. Well suited for couples or small groups. We will definitely be back!

  • Luca R.33 reviews

    1 November 2021

    5/10

    The food was average, the service pretty bad. The lady already got a bit mad because we hadn't made our choice when she came to ask. At the end, they pretended it was not possible to pay by card because the machine was not working today. When we insisted we'd have paid only by card, after 10-15 mins, the guy pretended to call the service to see what was not working on the machine. Magically, after exactly 1 minute, the machine was correctly working again. It was our second time in the restaurant because we liked it the first time, but after today we won't go anymore.

  • Katherine A.6 reviews

    16 October 2021

    10/10

    Delicious as always! Our favorite Ethiopian restaurant in the city!

  • Magdalena Z.15 reviews

    10 October 2021

    10/10

    Definitely come there hungry as food is delicious and portions are pretty big. It is must to try their tea or coffee, the ceremony is unique i must try.

  • Linda A.

    Linda A.5 reviews

    20 September 2021

    10/10

    Such yummy ???? food. Everything tasted SO nice. Had some of the really nice tea with dinner. And the 3 ice creams with fresh fruit for desert. Will be back soon for sure. Also very nice staff. Already dreaming about what lovely food to try out next time

  • Tim d.

    Tim d.2 reviews

    1 August 2021

    4.5/10

    Food was basic, large quantity but not very defined in taste. Salad on the middle of the special platter was not good. Preparing the food took quite long and it was not possible to pay by card. The waitress was very friendly, but I would not come back for the quality of food.

  • Carles d.7 reviews

    15 July 2021

    10/10

    Excellent as always!

  • Carles d.7 reviews

    30 June 2021

    10/10

    Amazing food, it was our first time and we will come back. Also brilliant that they can offer the injera gluten free

  • Katherine A.6 reviews

    20 June 2021

    10/10

    By far our favorite Ethiopian restaurant in Amsterdam. A cozy, friendly, family-run spot with absolutely delicious food! A gem! ❤️

  • Frankie P.1 review

    20 September 2020

    10/10

    The staff was friendly and the atmosphere felt authentic. The food came quickly, it was delicious, and the portions were so big that neither of us could finish ours! I will go back for sure!

  • - -24 reviews

    19 July 2020

    9.5/10

    I have never had Ethiopian food and Addis Ababa definitely provided an interesting experience for me. The food was delicious and adequately spicy. I liked the mixed meat one a lot. The coconut beer was also tasty.

  • Claudia s.13 reviews

    24 February 2020

    10/10

    Food was fantastic!!! Although we waited a little long for our dish, the wait was absolutely worth it! The staff is very friendly and the food was unbelievable. Would definitely come again!

  • Anilkumar P.5 reviews

    11 February 2020

    8.5/10

    Was there with a group of friends. The food and service was good.

  • - -1 review

    22 November 2019

    8.5/10

    This was only my third time of eating Ethiopian food in around 30 years so I don't have much to compare it to. The staff were extremely welcoming and were happy to accommodate any food requests - I really loved the coconut beer and the food itself was great (and more than enough despite us both being very hungry). We went away very happy!

  • João S.2 reviews

    29 October 2019

    8/10

    Food was really nice, we had the typical shared mixed plate and a spinach Ethiopian bread as a starter. Very generous quantities.

  • James F.2 reviews

    22 October 2019

    10/10

    I've eaten a lot of Ethiopian food in various cities around the world. This was really good, though I added spice to get the heat level up. It was perfect for my wife. Excellent injera, the meat special came with beef, lamb and chicken, as well as 3 types of lentils, cabbage and carrots, great spinach and a cold salad with fresh cheese. A really large serving of food. Wine was tasty and reasonable for the quality.

  • Wouter L.14 reviews

    8 October 2019

    9.5/10

    Pleasant and friendly staf, good food and we were amazed at how fast the food was ready (ok, we were the first ones in the restaurant).

  • Sam T.10 reviews

    12 August 2019

    9.5/10

    Shared the Addis Ababa special with the three of us and it was delicious. Fun dining experience. The host was very friendly, the atmosphere was good. Will definitely come back.

  • Izabela A.1 review

    31 December 2018

    10/10

    Great experience, great food, service very very kind. Will come back for 100% :)

  • - -1 review

    31 December 2018

    9/10

    really good worth a go

  • - -2 reviews

    14 September 2018

    9/10

    Really delicious food, friendly service and big portions. I'll definitely be coming back!

  • Julieta F.1 review

    15 August 2018

    10/10

    Love this place! Great service and really yummy and affordable food :) Awesome experience

  • - -1 review

    1 July 2018

    9.5/10

    If you love food and very kind people who are passionate about food. Eat here. ❤️

  • Anne S.

    Anne S.26 reviews

    23 March 2018

    10/10

    Another great evening at this lovely restaurant! Together with 3 of my collegues we decided to go for Ethiopian diner. So I reserved a table here, since I really enjoyed it the first time. One of our little group had his Birthday and the owner of the restaurant helped me decorating the table when I arrived. They were a bit delayed so while waiting, I got a super nice lentil soup on the house as a surprise, which was soo nice! We ordered a large injera full of mixed veggies and meats. Everyone of us loved it! When we ordered dessert they surprised our bday man with a cake and candles including a bday- song loudly played in the restaurant ???????????? Price/Quality is amazing and it is such a relaxing, easy going place to enjoy diner!

  • - -1 review

    7 February 2018

    8/10

    Absolutely DELICIOUS food. One of us had fish, one had meat and I was able to ask for one of the veggie options to be made vegan which was no problem at all. The food was incredible, very reasonably priced and the portion size was ideal. Only down side was that service was quite slow despite it being quiet when we arrived and so the atmosphere also wasn’t great. The quality of the food, however, far outweighed any negatives and I cannot express in words how amazing the food was.

  • - -1 review

    25 December 2017

    10/10

    Great cozy environment (most were clearly regulars!) and food was simply delicious, with a tinge of home cooked food!

  • Iain G.1 review

    28 October 2017

    10/10

    Eating here is like being welcomed into the home of our Ethiopian friends. After eight years of living in Addis Ababa, I crave the flavoursome food, the gorgeous coffee ceremony aromas, and the smiles, and last night it didn’t disappoint. I first enjoyed eating here in 2005 and will return every time I visit Amsterdam. Thank you!

  • Piero G.1 review

    10 September 2017

    8/10

    Good Ethiopian food, service was Quick despite how busy it was, they got a drinks order wrong despite only being two items, but was a good experience.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

146 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.