Register my restaurant
Help
What
Where

British Traditional

Reviews - English's of Brighton

9.2/10
310
English's of Brighton, BN1 1HL BrightonSee map

Average price £15

Find a table

Free service • Booking confirmed immediately

Make a booking on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts
This restaurant is following the relevant safety practices*:
Card payments accepted
Contact information is obtained
Extra cleaning services implemented at the tables, toilets and kitchen
Food served at the table only
Guest spacing 1m
Hand sanitizer for customers
Staff wearing masks
*This information is declared by the restaurant
See more information

Reviews

9.2/10
Excellent310 reviews
9.4/10

Food

9.4/10

Service

8.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Sheila J.

    10 September 20211 review

    10/10

    Excellent fish great staff with excellent service second time here and will be back as good as any London restaurant best restaurant in Brighton

  • Gary T.

    10 September 20211 review

    10/10

    Superb food and staff, the monk fish was out of this world, we will definitely return on our next visit to Brighton. The whole team were very professional and we really enjoyed our whole experience.

  • Eloise D.

    8 September 20211 review

    7/10

    The food is delicious, however the service could be more friendly and less judgmental.

  • Richard W.

    7 September 20211 review

    9/10
  • Richard M.

    7 September 20211 review

    7/10

    Eat outside on a very sunny day so able to watch people go by. Food was very tasty, had oysters and the fish pie. Only disappointment was the mussels were very small, but the taste was delicious.

  • Michelle S.

    21 August 20212 reviews

    10/10

    The atmosphere is very relaxed. Attentive staff. The food is lovely and fresh. A great place to eat

  • Catherine S.

    19 August 20211 review

    10/10

    I loved my evening eating with family at this great restaurant. The food was nicely cooked and beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and the service was good. Would recommend and return.

  • Brian S.

    11 August 20211 review

    10/10

    Superb dining experience. Great value for money and the service from Tony was excellent. The desserts were amazing and all prepared in-house.

  • Michael M.

    7 August 20211 review

    10/10

    Great food and service. The relaxed atmosphere and attention to detail were impressive. In my recent visits to Brighton over the past month, this has been my best experience.

  • Kurt R.

    6 August 20211 review

    10/10

    It's the best place in Brighton for fish. Old established, always go there

  • Michael L.

    28 July 20211 review

    10/10
  • Nick W.

    25 July 20211 review

    3.5/10

    Disappointing food , over priced Worst monkfish ever ! Seafood pie in a cup lacking seafood, mostly mash with a bit of salmon at the bottom! Came out starving and skint Never again

  • Linda M.

    23 July 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Always great food and staff great recommend it highly

  • Ashley O.

    18 July 20212 reviews

    8/10
  • Maggi B.

    10 July 20211 review

    10/10

    Beautiful food - fresh and carefully served. Staff were attentive and we had a relaxing late lunch there. A perfect place for a special meal together. Thanks guys.

    English's of Brighton (Owner)

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so please you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back soon again.

  • Louise F.

    7 July 20211 review

    10/10
  • Joan H.

    28 June 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Murat A.

    25 June 202115 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent food, service and value. Never disappoints.

  • Peter L.

    23 June 20211 review

    3.5/10
  • Ann M.

    17 June 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Lindsay E.

    16 June 20211 review

    9/10
  • Heather H.

    6 June 20211 review

    10/10
  • James W.

    29 May 20213 reviews

    10/10
  • Enzo M.
    Enzo M.

    28 May 202125 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent seafood restaurant with nice terrace. Impeccabile service.

  • Paula V.

    27 May 20211 review

    10/10

    So enjoyed our visit here! It was a perfect meal for our day visit to Brighton and was relaxed yet excellent cuisine and service! A delightful find !

  • Ruth H.

    26 May 20212 reviews

    10/10
  • Daisy K.

    25 May 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • David F.

    18 May 20211 review

    10/10

    Englishes is and has always been one of our favourite restaurants,a place we visit time and time again and the ambience service food quality never drops

  • Wendy H.

    18 May 20211 review

    10/10

    Super restaurant. Lots of choice. Delicious food. A bit chilly as the door is kept open so dress accordingly. You can spend a lot or not too much depending on what you choose,

  • Pip t.

    10 May 20211 review

    8.5/10
  • Diane M.

    8 May 20211 review

    6.5/10
  • Quentin T.

    4 May 20211 review

    10/10

    Not my first time at English's and will definitely not be the last! Excellent service as always, the food and wine were brilliant and I'm French and fussy so take my word for it! 10 stars!

  • Lesley W.

    1 May 20211 review

    9/10
  • Marlena L.

    25 April 20211 review

    9/10
  • David R.

    20 April 20211 review

    10/10
  • Jean J.

    14 April 20212 reviews

    5/10

    The staff were charming as ever, but the wait was far too long and the food disappointing. They are trading on their reputation achieved a long time ago.

  • Joanne N.

    14 April 20212 reviews

    10/10
  • Alison M.

    23 December 20202 reviews

    10/10

    This restaurant never disappoints. The food is always tasty and interesting and the staff friendly and attentive. Whenever I visit I always wonder why I don't come more often.

  • Sam Z.

    22 December 20201 review

    10/10
  • Hilary R.

    17 December 20201 review

    10/10

    Wonderful experience

    English's of Brighton (Owner)

    Thank you!

Tripadvisor reviews

1721 Tripadvisor Reviews

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty programme
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement (updated)
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • Blog
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2021 La Fourchette SAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant booking