Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

British Traditional

Reviews - English's of Brighton

9.3/10
375
English's of Brighton, BN1 1HL BrightonSee map

Average price £15

English's Winter Set Menu £29.5

Reservation

Find a table

MENU

Free service • Booking confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a booking on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts
This restaurant is following the relevant safety practices*:
Card payments accepted
Contact information is obtained
Extra cleaning services implemented at the tables, toilets and kitchen
Food served at the table only
Guest spacing 1m
Hand sanitizer for customers
Staff wearing masks
*This information is declared by the restaurant
See more information

Reviews

9.3/10
Excellent376 reviews
9.5/10

Food

9.4/10

Service

8.9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • David F.

    21 January 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Super restaurant somewhere we go for a taste of old English charm superb food and wine and great staff. You can be guaranteed an enjoyable evening here

  • Sharon D.

    19 January 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Food is always excellent. Staff pleasant and very nice surroundings.

  • Melanie B.

    13 January 20221 review

    10/10

    excellent food service and quality they made a little delivery mistake of my fish (it had sauce) but rectified it so fast it didnt spoil the experiece A special place! PS the bread also to die for!

  • Alina B.

    5 January 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Every time we come to Brighton we go there! Is our favourite place! ABSOLUTELY AMAZING FOOD AND THE SERVICE IS PERFECT! Look forward to go back Saturday and Sunday

  • Liliana m.

    4 January 20221 review

    9/10
  • Frances C.

    3 January 20221 review

    10/10

    The meal was to celebrate a special birthday so we had the tasting menu. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The service was excellent.

  • LESLEY H.

    16 December 20211 review

    10/10

    This restaurant and staff are outstanding. The food is beautiful . Caviar is a must if never tried it . Second visit and still couldn’t fault it . Look forward to our next visit .

  • Moh D.

    12 December 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant. Really tasty food and excellent service. Staff are really friendly. Definitely will dine again there

  • Bob P.

    10 December 20211 review

    10/10

    Our waitress, Ella, was absolutely brilliant and the manager was very helpful. The food and the ambiance was, as usual, excellent. Thank you for a fabulous evening.

  • Diane B.

    3 December 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Food and waiting staff both excellent would not hesitate to go back.

  • Kenneth D.

    27 November 202115 reviews

    10/10

    Great food and excellent service: well worth it.

  • Michael M.

    25 November 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent as usual.

  • Sally T.

    16 November 20211 review

    10/10
  • Angela m.

    7 November 20211 review

    10/10

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, I came with my 3 children and we had a lovely time and the food was amazing, we would definitely go there again

  • David M.

    6 November 20211 review

    9/10
  • Clare M.

    2 November 20211 review

    10/10
  • Julie K.

    31 October 20211 review

    10/10

    An excellent experience of dining out. A welcome greeting on arrival. Attentive staff. Promt. A go-to for a special occasion . Easy to book online

  • David H.

    29 October 20211 review

    10/10

    Nice little restaurant- good quality fish served elegantly. Unusual fish pie with clams and mussels in shells on a moist bed of mash and mixed fish. Very flavourful.

  • Jeremy H.

    19 October 20211 review

    7.5/10

    Excellent atmosphere but the food was over cooked, the batter was hard and the fish was a little dry

  • Hollie R.

    16 October 20212 reviews

    9.5/10

    Best cold seafood platter we’ve ever had. So tasty - so fresh and so nice!! Lovely waitress and all staff were great. So lucky to have got a table If you are in Brighton and love seafood it’s a must

  • Debbie A.

    10 October 20211 review

    9.5/10

    All food dishes were excellent. Great service. Could have done with some background music as the restaurant was quite empty when we went in. Other than that, would definitely go back!

  • Keith S.

    6 October 20212 reviews

    9.5/10
  • Janna H.

    26 September 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Fantastic staff and food always a pleasure to eat here can’t wait to visit soon

  • Lucinda B.

    25 September 20211 review

    9.5/10

    The food was top notch. Service a little slow but to be fair they were very busy with Labour conference people. Was really delicious . My favourite restaurant in Brighton .

  • Sharon B.

    23 September 20211 review

    10/10
  • Alison M.

    21 September 20213 reviews

    6.5/10
  • Clive M.

    21 September 20211 review

    10/10
  • Sheila J.

    10 September 20211 review

    10/10

    Excellent fish great staff with excellent service second time here and will be back as good as any London restaurant best restaurant in Brighton

  • Gary T.

    10 September 20211 review

    10/10

    Superb food and staff, the monk fish was out of this world, we will definitely return on our next visit to Brighton. The whole team were very professional and we really enjoyed our whole experience.

  • Eloïse D.

    8 September 20211 review

    7/10

    The food is delicious, however the service could be more friendly and less judgmental.

  • Richard W.

    7 September 20211 review

    9/10
  • Richard M.

    7 September 20211 review

    7/10

    Eat outside on a very sunny day so able to watch people go by. Food was very tasty, had oysters and the fish pie. Only disappointment was the mussels were very small, but the taste was delicious.

  • Michelle S.

    21 August 20212 reviews

    10/10

    The atmosphere is very relaxed. Attentive staff. The food is lovely and fresh. A great place to eat

  • Catherine S.

    19 August 20211 review

    10/10

    I loved my evening eating with family at this great restaurant. The food was nicely cooked and beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and the service was good. Would recommend and return.

  • Brian S.

    11 August 20211 review

    10/10

    Superb dining experience. Great value for money and the service from Tony was excellent. The desserts were amazing and all prepared in-house.

  • Michael M.

    7 August 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Great food and service. The relaxed atmosphere and attention to detail were impressive. In my recent visits to Brighton over the past month, this has been my best experience.

  • Kurt R.

    6 August 20211 review

    10/10

    It's the best place in Brighton for fish. Old established, always go there

  • Michael L.

    28 July 20211 review

    10/10
  • Nick W.

    25 July 20211 review

    3.5/10

    Disappointing food , over priced Worst monkfish ever ! Seafood pie in a cup lacking seafood, mostly mash with a bit of salmon at the bottom! Came out starving and skint Never again

  • Linda M.

    23 July 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Always great food and staff great recommend it highly

Tripadvisor reviews

1753 Tripadvisor Reviews

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty programme
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • Blog
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2022 La Fourchette SAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant booking