Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - English's of Brighton

9.4/10
776
English's of Brighton, BN1 1HL Brighton
British
Average price £45

English's of Brighton

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 10 bookings today

Reviews

9.4/10
Excellent776 reviews
9.5/10

Food

9.6/10

Service

9.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet
  • Anita A.1 review

    14 June 2024

    8/10

    Lovely Restaurant. It never disappoints. Traditional fish restaurant great food great quality ingredients Services is lovely waitresses attentive the thing I would say is that they were slightly understaffed that night although the restaurant wasn’t full, so seemed a a bit pushed.

  • Charlie H.6 reviews

    19 June 2024

    8/10

    A nice setting, good food and friendly staff.

  • Claire S.1 review

    7 June 2024

    9.5/10

    English’s food never disappoints. The quality is excellent and the staff are welcoming and efficient. It is a delightful venue.

  • ANDY K.1 review

    7 June 2024

    10/10

    Today we had a table booked indoors but the weather was nice and we're able to get a seat outside in the sunshine. The food and service were excellent. Already spoken to some friends about how good our experience was and planning to return soon.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Clive H.13 reviews

    27 May 2024

    10/10

    Great!

  • charlotte G.1 review

    25 May 2024

    10/10

    Amazing food, gorgeous restaurant and brilliant servers.

  • Dawn A.1 review

    25 May 2024

    9.5/10

    The door was superb. Also some really nice cocktails. Service was great, would highly recommend.

  • Mike D.2 reviews

    24 May 2024

    9.5/10

    I first came here the night before I was married, so this place holds great memories for me plus I have come here for subsequent special occasions. The food has been consistently good and tonight was the same. It just serves all types of seafood excellently and consistently. Don’t come here if you don’t really like fish!

  • Jonathan B.2 reviews

    12 May 2024

    10/10

    Always a pleasure, great service and great food. Sitting outside on a sunny day watching the world go by, perfect :)

  • Chris F.1 review

    7 May 2024

    9.5/10

    Fantastic traditional restaurant. Great menu, food and service - would highly recommend

  • Daniela V.1 review

    24 April 2024

    10/10

    I reservated a table for my birthday and it was one of the best dinners ive ever had in a restaurant. Actually, it was so good that i reservated the same table at the same time for the next evening. The service as well the food were really magneficent! I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anybody! I will for sure come again, as soon as i visit Brighton again. Best regards! The 2 girls from switzerland (the last table on the right side, right next to the mirror.☺️

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Charles D.1 review

    24 April 2024

    10/10

    One word Amazing!!!!!!!

  • Karen M.1 review

    19 April 2024

    10/10

    This restaurant is so good. It is a fish restaurant of quality. Service very good too. Highly recommend for a special occasion.. prices are good too for such good food. The seafood platter was amazing a lot of food to eat but if you love fish and seafood this is for you. I personally was the one in the group who doesn't eat a lot of fish so I had steak which was also very nice but I tried several bits of fish and will definitely try more in the future. I would suggest maybe a couple of starters added for a non seafood eating person but I had the nice bread and pate and some lovely mixed nuts as appetiser while others had their fish starters so wasnt totally left out. Highly recommend this restaurant.

    review_preview

    See 4 photos

  • Bob M.1 review

    16 April 2024

    9.5/10

    This place is, without doubt, the best eating place in down town Brighton. The service is exemplary and the ambience is very comfortable. Wine list is a bit too expensive but the food makes up for that.

  • Barry W.2 reviews

    14 April 2024

    10/10

    We so enjoyed our evening, all the staff were so friendly and attentive, nothing could have better, food was delicious,

  • Ivan C.1 review

    8 April 2024

    10/10

    What more can i say, great food, staff were professional and friendly. The menu is well balanced and on a wet miserable evening there was no better place than English's to spend the evening with friends. Not the first visit and certainly not the last.

  • Kim C.1 review

    3 April 2024

    10/10

    A fantastic meal, perfect in every detail. A trip to Brighton is extra special if you can visit English's

  • Steven d.4 reviews

    6 April 2024

    10/10

    It is my friends favourite restaurant. Only my second time. The food is sublime, fresh and local. A cornucopia of smells, fragrances and taste. Each mouthful a delight. Pair the meal with one of the exceptional wines and it’s a marriage made in heaven. The service is old school, exceptional and delightful. Everything combined, makes for a totally enjoyable, and delightful dining experience. Extremely rare these days. English’s, is the jewel in Brightons crown. It is warm and welcoming, and you just want to come back, time and time again. I’ve have been lucky enough to dine at some of the best restaurants in the world, and this knocks the others out of the ball park. It’s unique, it’s individual, it’s an utter delight to dine there.

  • Natalia D23 reviews

    5 April 2024

    10/10

    One of my favourite restaurants in Brighton. Stylish, cozy, excellent food (scallops and mussels are amazing) and great variety of wines for reasonable prices. Nice staff. Thank you!

  • JILL H.1 review

    30 March 2024

    10/10

    Excellent food and very friendly. Would highly recommend. Will definitely go again.

  • Sara P.1 review

    31 March 2024

    9.5/10

    We had a fabulous family Sunday lunch here and the fish was super fresh, batter was gluten free which was great for 2 allergy guests and the staff were wonderful from greeting us, the service, to saying goodbye. Thank you English’s for a lovely lunch!

  • Ty J.1 review

    23 March 2024

    10/10

    I love this restaurant. Been going here for 20 odd years. We spent a lot of money and enjoyed our dinner… but by 22:30 the staff decided that we had to go… we were not alone in the venue at that time. we were rather unceremoniously hurried out… the staff sitting in a row at the little bar waiting for us to go… on a Saturday night. That’s very early, A disappointing end to a lovely evening

  • Mary H.1 review

    22 March 2024

    10/10

    We have hoped to eat at this beautiful restaurant for years so treated ourselves yesterday. The whole experience was lovely. We were treated very respectfully and were able to try food we had not eaten before prepared deliciously. The experience was as special as we had hoped and we will book again for another special occasion

  • Ruth M.4 reviews

    20 March 2024

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant recommended online so we thought we would try it and so pleased we did. Our waitress was incredibly helpful and the food was so fresh and amazing.

  • Conor E.1 review

    2 March 2024

    9.5/10

    The Food was good and the waitress was friendly and accommodating. We had the hot fish platter which really filled up two people. I'd happily go again.

  • Tracey L.1 review

    25 February 2024

    9.5/10

    Wonderful (mainly shoal based) restaurant, the most flavoursone upside-down quirky fish pie I've ever had put in front of me. Delicious 😋 Starters of King Prawns and Scallops whet the appetite and lots of alternative dishes to choose for mains, I'm sure the steaks equally tasty. As for desserts 🍨 the pannacotta had 'orange drops ' which were a sensation never previously experienced. All in all a must 'go to' place in Brighton.

  • Debbie H.1 review

    9 February 2024

    10/10

    Great food, superb service, friendly and attentive staff, never disappoints

  • Elias A.1 review

    2 February 2024

    10/10

    What an amazing experience! Everything was absolutely perfect! The ambience, the service from the wonderful Ella and of course the food. The food was divine. We got the hot sharing platter with loads of seafood and fish. As it was Friday, they had a special offer of 15% discount for the platter. Definitely one of the best and memorable dining experiences we had.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Jeanette M.1 review

    31 January 2024

    9/10

    Beautiful meal

  • Simenon H.1 review

    30 January 2024

    10/10

    An oasis of gastronomic civilisation.

  • Robert S.1 review

    4 January 2024

    10/10

    English's was recommended by a friend of ours as 'The place to get Seafood in Brighton!', well I am please to say that they were totally correct. On a very wet and windy January Thursday, my wife and I enjoyed a fabulous lunch in this cosy warm inviting restaurant. The food was sensational and the service exemplary. We both had a great time and have already recommended English's to a number of friends. Brilliant!

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Steven d.4 reviews

    5 January 2024

    10/10

    Unbelievable food and service. Would definitely recommend!

  • David B.1 review

    15 December 2023

    10/10

    The restaurant and its staff are to be highly praised for a very professional job well done We had a great evening and enjoyed our conversations with both our waitress and the manager We will definitely be back to this wonderful traditional gem in the heart of Brightons Laines Thank you so much

  • Heather L.1 review

    7 November 2023

    4/10

    Our platter was VERY salty and we left quite a bit of it, being considerate we did not complain until the restraunt was reasonably empty and was begrudgingly given a SMALL discount. I was very ill a few hours later and for the next three days. I told them it was food poisioning, They were not interested said it may not be their fault. I would recommend anyone with the slightest doubt about the food to complain immediately and retain the said food IN question to have it analised.

  • Andrew S.4 reviews

    8 December 2023

    10/10

    Quality fish restaurant in central Brighton, with real old fashioned high quality service, cloth napkins and a great wine list at reasonable prices. Highly recommend

  • George D.1 review

    8 December 2023

    9/10

    This rates as one of the best fish restaurants in the South of England for absolutely quality of product, preparation and price. A true dining experience and highly recommended.

  • Matt P.1 review

    25 November 2023

    8/10

    A great range of options to choose from, absolutely delicious food and wine. Service very good however the ambience was somewhat lacking, we were seated upstairs in a quiet room with no music. Downstairs ambience was much better. For an upmarket restaurant a bit of music, although not too loud, would have made it feel a bit more special. However, the food was excellent, which was the main thing and we would go again.

  • Edward O.1 review

    31 October 2023

    10/10

    Fantastic meal and excellent service. We came here for our wedding meal during Covid and this time was for our 3rd wedding anniversary. Both times the staff were absolutely brilliant, as well as the food. We love the old-school vibe as well.

  • Amanda B.2 reviews

    3 November 2023

    9.5/10

    Wonderful find! Food and drinks were all delicious, well presented too. Lovely staff, very welcoming and attentive. Traditional restaurant, which we really enjoyed, relaxed ambience. Restaurant was full. Would have got 10 but the bill was initially overpriced so had to be re-done. But immediately resolved. Would visit again. Recommend.

  • Paul T.1 review

    29 October 2023

    10/10

    Superb Sea food, lovely friendly service.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

1937 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.