Register my restaurant
Help

Reviews - GunPowder Lisbon

9.2/10
374
R. Nova da Trindade 13, 1200-235 Lisboa
Indian
Average price €20

GunPowder Lisbon

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 18 bookings today

Reviews

9.2/10
Excellent374 reviews
9.4/10

Food

9.3/10

Service

8.8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Abdul karim D.2 reviews

    20 April 2024

    6.5/10

    restrained indian flavours aimed at a tourist market. Definitely NOT indian food !

  • Stephanie C.2 reviews

    14 April 2024

    10/10

    Delicious food and great recommendations by the server.

  • Philippa J.1 review

    19 April 2024

    10/10

    The food was super and the staff were attentive, kind and professional. I will definitely seek out Gunpowder restaurants in London now.

  • Victor M.

    Victor M.1 review

    14 April 2024

    8.5/10

    Food was good and tasty A good once experience

  • Neil C.1 review

    18 April 2024

    10/10

    Wonderful Indian food with some fusion elements. Excellent service too. Highly recommended

  • Josef B.10 reviews

    16 April 2024

    10/10

    Gunpowder is a superb restaurant. The menu draws fron regional Indian cuisines from mighty Mumbai to tiny Goa, from north to south. Each small dish and every sharing dish is imaginatively conceived and expertly prepared. Accompanying the terrific menu is a fine list of Portuguese regional wines. Expert and attentive service makes each dish a pleasure. A lovely meal!

  • Andrew G.8 reviews

    16 April 2024

    9.5/10

    Incredible restaurant! Amazing flavors! Excellent Service!

  • Mark L.1 review

    13 April 2024

    10/10

    Gunpowder Lisboa is a must-do. Excellent service; friendly people. We had seats at the bar so we could watch the chefs cook dinner, which was fascinating. The diversity of the dishes was impressive. Absolutely delicious food. We give it an A++.

  • Eduardo C.3 reviews

    4 April 2024

    7/10

    The food and presentation was good. Ambience also.. we tried the lamb, as it was suggested to be the best seller and it did not disappoint. The chicken tandoori was fine and seafood rice was a little wet than we expected.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Chaitanya D.1 review

    4 April 2024

    9.5/10

    The food was excellent. Interesting twist on the dishes while being true to their flavours. The malai broccoli was exceptional! Great service as well, the staff were warm and attentive throughout the meal.

  • Akiko T.

    Akiko T.3 reviews

    30 March 2024

    10/10

    Last minute booking on an Easter weekend. Great wine recommendation and friendly service.

  • Sze-Ming Ng2 reviews

    19 March 2024

    8/10

    This is the second time we visited the restaurant. We had an early reservation and the service was good and attentive. Soon enough there were more patrons and we find that the attention was no longer there. The food taste ingredients were great and delicious. However We ordered shrimp on the grill and it was burnt and probably let under heat light too long. I think the restaurant needs some help or better managing of food orders and customers. Hope they improve to give a better experience

  • Lisa S.1 review

    19 March 2024

    9.5/10

    Wonderful dining experience. Food is fantastic and unique! Wonderful flavors and presentation with a nice view of the kitchen. Very creative menu with full attention to detail. Highly recommended!

  • Wayne B.1 review

    16 March 2024

    8/10

    We were excited to try this restaurant for a while. The ambience was a little disappointing, primarily because we were seated upstairs. I think it would have been different if we were downstairs. The food was good, especially the chicken tandoori. Our beef dish was a a little tough and chewy. However, several of the dishes we saw going to other tables looked good and the place was very crowded. So I think Gunpowder deserves another chance.

  • Anna H.1 review

    19 March 2024

    10/10

    EAT HERE. The food is delicious, the service is amazingly good, the drinks are of high quality. The people who work here do everything they can to give diners a great experience. EAT HERE.

  • Jana D.2 reviews

    14 March 2024

    10/10

    The food was so amazing that we went there twice in a row. One of the best Indian restaurants I have been to!

  • Bruce S.1 review

    18 March 2024

    5/10

    Disappointing and meh

  • Sally K.1 review

    15 March 2024

    10/10

    Fabulous restaurant with amazing food . Fabulous find

  • Marta B.4 reviews

    6 March 2024

    8.5/10

    Food was good and tasty but the place was crowded and loud, we could barely talk to each other. Portions were incredibly small for the price too.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Cindy Y.2 reviews

    29 February 2024

    10/10

    The food was absolutely delicious! It was very busy, so we had to wait for a table for two, although we had a reservation. The hostess was lovely though and handled the situation with such grace and professionalism. Everyone waiting was offered a drink on the house. I highly recommend, it was well worth the wait!

  • Robert D.2 reviews

    18 February 2024

    8.5/10

    Food quite good. Service was difficult to obtain once food ordered. Plates remained on table over twenty minutes until we asked twice for them to be removed. It’s like they stole defeat from the jaws of victory.

  • Russell S31 reviews

    4 February 2024

    9/10

    A delicious meal with wonderful cocktails and a warm service. Highly recommended

    review_preview

    See 4 photos

  • Michael J.1 review

    1 February 2024

    10/10

    Great food, very different from standard Indian fare. Don't miss the softshell crabs!

  • Isaac I.7 reviews

    5 January 2024

    7.5/10

    We went to try this restaurant after reading some reviews and opinions from people we know, the restaurant itself is very well located and the interior is nice and quite cozy, when it comes to the food, not so much, there was 4 things we really liked in our full meal, the bread, the curry sauce, the chutneys and the rum cake, so I guess this is enough to understand that the starters and main courses lacked some quality, some dishes the food seemed very bland, with few to no condiments, other dishes you could just taste it and it didn’t felt “wow” as we was expecting, the shrimp toast had nice flavor but u could sense a bit of the oil afterwards, the chicken tandoori was quite nice but not amazing, the lamb doughnut texture was really nice and the sauce was good but the meat inside didn’t had much spices on it, the kerala beef was okay but if it was me I would do some tweaks to the dish in order to be better, the rum cake was vey nice, I would go there again only for the cake and the service, this waiter was really nice and gave us a great service, one of the highlights of our dinner

  • Gautam B.4 reviews

    28 December 2023

    4/10

    Incorrect use of raw spices, overcooked beef and fish. Very disappointing.

  • Marie J.7 reviews

    30 December 2023

    8.5/10

    The food was excellent. This was our second visit and we were not disappointed by the meal. However, there was a large party of 12 people who were distressingly noisy, and acting as though they were the only patrons . Other diners left early, understandably very upset. We only stayed for dessert because we managed to move our table. Management made no effort to speak to the noisy table. This spoiled an otherwise pleasant meal.

  • Jeremie D.7 reviews

    25 December 2023

    7/10

    Food is very good, tasty and original. Very pricey for what you got on your plate though.

  • Sharmi J.1 review

    27 December 2023

    10/10

    This restaurant was superb. The food was incredible and the service even better! Thank you!

  • Amy D.79 reviews

    24 December 2023

    9.5/10

    A very successful and generous Christmas Eve menu

  • Rosalien M.5 reviews

    9 December 2023

    10/10

    Every dish was surprising! Lovely setting with a space upstairs as well and great service. Liked it so much, already came back the same week.

  • Fi M.3 reviews

    17 December 2023

    10/10

    Delicious food! A must try!

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Smita C.1 review

    6 December 2023

    10/10

    We loved the food here, it was creative, imaginative and absolutely delicious! Our server Fatima was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

  • Ana C.

    Ana C.7 reviews

    10 December 2023

    9/10

    The restaurant is an interesting mix of Indian Portuguese food, with delicious plates and drinks.

  • Sarah W.1 review

    9 November 2023

    10/10

    What a fantastic restaurant. Would highly recommend if you’re in Lisbon. Please do not miss this place. The food is spectacular, the service is amazing and the ambiance brilliant

  • Mohand S.6 reviews

    3 November 2023

    9.5/10

    A great foody moment !

  • Sonya C.28 reviews

    13 October 2023

    10/10

    Amazing experience from start to end…! The taste of every bite was amazing… can’t wait to return

    review_preview

    See 6 photos

  • Julie W.2 reviews

    9 October 2023

    10/10

    Food was wonderful! We ordered about 12 dishes between four people. We enjoyed the meal. The standout dishes were the grilled oysters, chickpea rice, green bean pakora and grilled broccoli… amazing!!! Small plates had plenty to share between 4 people. Shareable plates were sizeable. We were stuffed! Meal was phenomenal!

    review_preview

    See 6 photos

  • Ricardo L.

    Ricardo L.28 reviews

    4 October 2023

    10/10

    Great experience at Gunpowder! Amazing and flavour packed food! Highly recommend it! Love the Chickpea pullao, Lamb and Prawns!

  • Ergin I.5 reviews

    22 September 2023

    7.5/10

    Nice & cool place. Unattentive though friendly service crew. They ran out of wine coolers and never refilled wine (forgot go get our bottle out of the fridge) or water. Food was good, Especially liked the CPC Prawn Toast, the Soft Shell Crab and the Tomato Salad. Seafood Pulao was too watery and unimpressive. Good wine list.

    review_preview

    See 4 photos

  • Diana M.21 reviews

    15 September 2023

    8/10

    Restaurant was small and quaint. Located on a busy street in the heart of the city. The service was good and staff friendly. Portions were small in comparison to price. Tasty options, however not many vegetarian choices.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

30 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.