Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Indian Restaurant Shiva

8.5/10
332
Reguliersdwarsstraat 72, 1017 Amsterdam
Indian
Average price €23

Get up to 30% off

Conditions may apply

Indian Restaurant Shiva

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.5/10
Fabulous332 reviews
8.9/10

Food

8.2/10

Service

8.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet
  • Philip B.1 review

    17 May 2024

    9.5/10

    The food was of excellent quality and plenty of it. No complaints whatsoever. Very good value.

    Indian Restaurant ShivaOwner

    Dankjewel voor de review

  • Michael Y.6 reviews

    22 March 2024

    10/10

    Always a joy to dine at Shiva.

  • Gerald O.1 review

    14 February 2024

    9/10

    Great food and good service. Highly recommended

  • Veerle P.1 review

    31 December 2023

    6/10

    It was clear that business had to be made. They forced us to choose quickly what to eat, practically took my boyfriend's plate out of his hands when he was eating his desert. Disappointed ! On New Year's Eve !

  • Scott G.1 review

    20 November 2023

    5/10

    Average Indian restaurant. Much better near by. Poor/pushy service. Waitress brought out more dishes even after we told her no. They will not honor the 30% unless you ask multiple times, come on….

  • richard w.1 review

    10 September 2023

    10/10

    Easily the best Indian food in Amsterdam, not to mention charming owners and staff.

  • Karen B.1 review

    14 July 2023

    10/10

    Our second visit to this restaurant and we were not disappointed. Still highly recommend a visit , food is amazing .

  • Fabien F.1 review

    2 July 2023

    10/10

    Très bonne adresse, pour 30€, boissons comprises, vous faites un bon repas copieux. A very good spot to know in A'dam. Dishes are unbeleviable, service is perfect and the rate of quality and price is more than worthy even with drinks.

  • Tania H.1 review

    4 June 2023

    6.5/10

    Delicious food but the servers were not warm or welcoming at all. They seemed angry for no reason at us and we all felt it. We enjoyed our meal but didn’t feel any special treatment or service.

  • Sergio C.1 review

    24 March 2023

    3/10

    The staff does not understand how the reservation system works, and when you reconfirm 5 hours before the time, they think that in that moment you did the reservation. So for them it is too late and they have already reserved your table, which the system has allowed you to reserve. The boss was not for the job but the other boss handled the situation properly and it was resolved. We ordered two different menus, which shared certain meats. They combined both menus and served us the amount of meat from a menu for one person only and they charged us both. Most of the meat were bones and almost not cooked. There are definitely better options 20 meters away…

  • Riff R.2 reviews

    21 March 2023

    6/10

    Quite expensive for the food and drinks - 5.50eur for a pint of beer. Around 20 euros per dish of curry. The service was ok and the ambience was mediocre. 50 euros to eat for one person.

  • Dino s.1 review

    5 March 2023

    10/10

    Good food

  • Cherish H.4 reviews

    28 January 2023

    10/10

    Excellent as always, thank you!

  • Adrian K.4 reviews

    6 January 2023

    10/10

    Attentive staff, nice location and the food is fantastic. Authentic Indian dishes seasoned to perfection. I’ll become a regular for sure.

  • N D1 review

    30 December 2022

    3/10

    Absolute disillusion. Like others say here, they don’t give you the 30% and they come with a story that at the Fork they don’t changed it and they need to pay 3 euro per person bla bla bla and put the consequence of this at the customer. It is via the Fork that I found this table so they need to pay the Fork for our reservation, simple as that. That would be honest and fair. They also don’t give you a receipt, so provably they don’t pay taxes. Service is mega ultra rude. Absolute no go.

  • Jeff A.3 reviews

    31 December 2022

    8/10

    When we arrived at Shiva for our reservation, we were told we only have an hour to eat. I understand it was New Year’s Eve and they want to seat as many people as possible, but my wife and I felt rushed. The food was really good, but I was frustrated with the service.

  • Joan K.1 review

    18 November 2022

    10/10

    This is a wonderful find ,authentic Indian food. We throughly enjoyed it ! Highly recommend!

  • Stephen D.1 review

    13 November 2022

    10/10

    Fantastic!!

  • Ronald B.1 review

    11 November 2022

    7.5/10

    We enjoyed the delicious food. The place was very busy so I wasn’t able to order a 2nd beer lol. Very nice on the whole.

  • Berry B.

    Berry B.5 reviews

    11 November 2022

    6/10

    Booked through The Fork with 50% off. The staff man told us we have to order a starter, main dish and desert, because we have made the reservation via TheFork and will receive the discount (on the main dish). Quality of the dishes was average, but nothing to write home about, definitely not mind-blowing. The starters were just fine. Spicy sauce with the papadum was inedible hot. The Lassi mango and the cappuccino were also very mediocre. The owner serving was friendly but his wife was very curt and businesslike. Bill was very unclear, also a pity that they 'forgot' the discount from TheFork. The total price for 2 people, starters and main dish was E75,- and was not completely worth it. Unfortunately, the whole was a bit disappointing and not worth repeating.

  • Krzysztof K.4 reviews

    11 November 2022

    10/10

    Really great food, absolutely worth it

    Indian Restaurant ShivaOwner

    Dankjewel voor u review

  • Kamil M.1 review

    10 November 2022

    10/10

    small comfy place with tasty original cousine

  • Livio C.144 reviews

    25 August 2022

    8.5/10

    We chose a menu in order to taste different things. Good quality. Vegetables with curry were top. We wait a little bit more than expected. Not 100% sure of the final bill

    review_preview

    See photo

  • John S.3 reviews

    28 July 2022

    9.5/10

    This well-situated restaurant in the centre of Amsterdam has a clean and tidy atmosphere and a warm and welcoming staff.. The layout of the interior and tables is tasteful and the well decorations appealing. The food is excellent with a wide range of dishes arranged on attractive serving dishes.

  • Yasmin A.1 review

    12 June 2022

    10/10

    Perfect restaurant to go with when you want to eat quick but delicious food! Service was really great and very friendly. Beautifully placed in a not to busy street too!

  • Amy A.3 reviews

    3 June 2022

    10/10

    The staff are extremely friendly and the food was top tier! We even got to taste the dessert for free to see if we liked it. ???? Big thanks to all and I will definitely be visiting again. :)

  • Cristian H.

    Cristian H.1 review

    1 June 2022

    8.5/10

    Cosy vibe in the restaurant, flavorful and tasty food (really liked the cheese naan and the homemade deserts) and also welcoming service. the only thing that we didn't like was that food portions were relatively small for the price.

  • Gauher A.

    Gauher A.4 reviews

    22 April 2022

    10/10

    Amazing hosts and great food

  • Tk h.2 reviews

    27 April 2022

    2/10

    They cancelled our booking .when we went to hotel they cancelled our booking saying they have many reservation but I saw 2-3 tables are free .this how they treat customer

  • Ivan P.1 review

    14 February 2022

    10/10

    Amazing! have been back a few times ever since

  • Gary N.2 reviews

    21 February 2022

    10/10

    Always eat here when we visit Amsterdam and the food was as good as always!

  • Stella M.1 review

    4 February 2022

    9.5/10

    Great place right in the center with good quality Indian dishes. We were with quite a large group but service was fast. the staff advised us to get a table full of vegetarian dishes to share which tasted great and were very reasonably priced. Will Come back.

  • Harry S.166 reviews

    1 February 2022

    9.5/10

    Tasty, fresh and refined food, served in style with grace, in a peaceful dedicated environment. Enjoyable. A place to return to

  • Anna K.2 reviews

    31 October 2021

    10/10

    The food was delicious and the service is good

  • Douglas A.11 reviews

    27 October 2021

    9.5/10

    There are MANY Indian restaurants in Amsterdam, but we have been disappointed at other places so we tried Shiva which was recommended to us. It was a very good choice and we will certainly come back.

  • Putri F.3 reviews

    23 October 2021

    9.5/10

    Good food and super service. Love it and for sure we will come back again in the future????????

  • Iwan Y.43 reviews

    29 August 2021

    10/10

    Delicious and great service.

  • Stephen H.1 review

    27 August 2021

    6/10

    The food was actually quite good, said from someone who has eaten Indian many times including in various parts of India However 2 major points to state 1. we arrived at 730 PM and had our starters at 830, so while good we had to wait a long time. Main courses arrived at 915….again food good and certainly authentic 2. the restaurant being long and a bit narrow when busy becomes very very noisy, piry really The staff were very friendly but the really need to fix at least point 1 above Value for money: borderline as is a little expensive but saying that if you want decent food in Amsterdam prepare to pay London-like prices

  • Eva Q.1 review

    13 August 2021

    9.5/10

    The food was very good and the waitress was also kind to us. Service was quick, good portions very accessible prices especially for such a central location. I have gone to this restaurant a few times and it is one of the best in Amsterdam.

  • Regina K.1 review

    24 July 2021

    10/10

    Love it for years - always first place to go for a dinner whenever I come to this city! I can’t think of 82 additional words for this report - everything has been said ;)

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

520 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.