Back

Reviews - RISARO @ The Coventry Arms

8.4/10

Very good

based on 97 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Nathan T.
    Nathan T.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Very nice little pub good food and service will be going back boxing day and in the new year to think this is going to be my regular.looks good for the summer aswell with the river running at the back of the garden.

    RISARO @ The Coventry ArmsRISARO @ The Coventry Arms

    Nathan, thank you so much. We loved having you with us and can't wait to open back up after the Covid restrictions!! Roll on the summer :-)

  2. Emma P.
    Emma P.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The staff were really jolly, kind and very accommodating. The santa was great, very funny and spent lots of time talking and having photographs with the children. The only negative I have to say is the breakfast could of been a bit warmer. Apart from that, everything was fantastic! And more to the point my children got to spend some quality time with santa, and we didn't thi k that was going to be possible after the rubbish year we have all had! Thankyou risaro at Coventry arms!

    RISARO @ The Coventry ArmsRISARO @ The Coventry Arms

    Emma thank you so much for the feedback! Santa had a fabulous time too! We will definitely keep an eye on the breakfast temp. Santa said he can't wait to come back this December and have breakfast with all the families again :-)

  3. David D.
    David D.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. resurant is decorated beautifully giving it a cosy feel to it . Food is amazing ! Overall great place

    RISARO @ The Coventry ArmsRISARO @ The Coventry Arms

    Wow David, what a lovely review :-) So pleased you enjoyed your visit!! We are looking forward so much to be welcoming our guests back after all these covid restrictions are lifted, hoping you'll be popping by too,

  4. Nathan T.
    Nathan T.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely atmosphere frendly staff nice pub and good to see santa for the kids they loved it and had a very good time.will be back again soon for some nice food and drink.

  5. Iain M.
    Iain M.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Unfortunately because of the covid problem the pub was quite. However food, service and the wonderful fire made up for it. Our first time back since the latest lock down. Well done Katie and team!!

  6. Sally V.
    Sally V.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Welcoming staff and a lovely wood burning open fire, great atmosphere. Reasonable menu, freshly cooked, and really hot, could have been quicker though, staff obviously ran off their feet. Very busy with take away orders apparently. Would definitely go there again.

  7. Jo M.
    Jo M.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a great idea to arrange a covid friendly breakfast with Santa! Despite the restrictions, which were managed excellently, it was a magical experience for our little boy. Well done team. And one of the jolliest Santa's ever! ????????

  8. Terry H.
    Terry H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Had a fantastic morning at Breakfast with Santa. A relaxing chill out after a busy week and magical experience for kids. Lovely food and so welcoming. Thank you so much.

  9. Sam W.
    Sam W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Extremely friendly staff, very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Food was delicious, well worth a visit. Highly recommended, we will be visiting again soon.

  10. Antony W.
    Antony W.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    We did a late booking on a saturday so were pleased to find a table but it was at the back with limited heating and no atmosphere. Food was ok. Large ribs with plenty of meat but also fatty. Nice desserts. No frklls, reasonable food and friendly staff but coyld have been better

  11. Silke F.
    Silke F.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    The restaurant inside has been modernised and lost its former atmosphere. The huge fireplace is great. Service was very good and staff very friendly and helpful. Food was fine but not extraordinary. I didn't like the chocolate fudge cake that much and the ice cream didn't have much flavour.

  12. Michelea m.
    Michelea m.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excellent food, very tasty and the meat is always amazing, the only fault we had with our meal is that it was not served very hot which was a shame. Staff lovely.

  13. Lauren D.
    Lauren D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great menu. Nice to see different options from the normal pub menu. Nice veggie options too. Staff were accommodating and attentive. This is a lovely pub with nice garden down to the river, dog friendly too :) Will be back... often!

  14. Storm L.
    Storm L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and amazing service. Considering all the restrictions at the minute there was no issues and everyone was so welcoming. Our waitress Katie was fantastic!!! The food was, as always, absolutely stunning!! Can't wait to go back but to be able to take lots of friends to enjoy such a wonderful place.

  15. Julia B.
    Julia B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    There was a warm welcome and a clear Covid one way system The table service and food were excellent and we felt most welcome The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble

  16. Lisa O.
    Lisa O.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Super welcoming pub with great cider and delicious food - even better that we were staying just a 2 minute walk away! The slow cooked meats were fantastic!

  17. Peter C.
    Peter C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I booked this reservation for my wife and myself the previous evening. The reservation process was very simple and quick online. We arrived 15 minutes early as the traffic on our journey was light. This presented the staff with no issues, and we were immediately seated, having had our details and temperature taken for COVID-19 "Track & Trace". Staff were all wearing masks or visors, which we found reassuring. As soon as we were seated, our order for drinks was taken, and quickly brought to the table; when our order for food was taken. Whilst it took between 20 - 30 minutes for the food to be cooked, it was superb. The homemade bacon & cheese burger had an 8oz smoked brisket burger in a very fresh soft white bun with cheese, smoked bacon and a garnish of lettuce. Homemade coleslaw and thin & crispy fries came with this. The burger had a distinctive taste that both my wife and I really enjoyed. We also had desserts and coffee which were equally good. Service was friendly, polite and unobtrusive. Whilst this choice of venue was a bit of a "stab in the dark" for us, we have unintentionally found a really good pub restaurant. We will certainly use it again.

  18. Martin W.
    Martin W.
    • one review
    8/10

    The place was a bit spartan with very little on the walls . The service was good and the main (slow cooked brisket) was amazing. I had the Fill You Up portion and my wife had the regular. There was such a lot of meat. The veggies were very nice and tasted really fresh too. The deserts we had were disappointing though and were a bit bland. My crumble didn’t really taste of anything other than crumble and my wife’s lemon meringue pie she could hardly taste the lemon. That said we will definitely go back and try some of the other slow cooked meals but perhaps have a starter next time and not a pud!

  19. Janice B.
    Janice B.
    • one review
    6/10

    Staff were welcoming but there was a long wait for our food. Starters were good when they finally arrived. Main course was as described -slow cooked brisket - the men loved it but I thought it was like school dinner food.

  20. Eloise V.
    Eloise V.
    • one review
    6/10

    Food was ok. Quite large portions. All 3 of us had some form of brisket dish but all cooked to different levels. Was quite expensive for what we had. I doubt we would gp again. Whixh is a shame as very local for us.

  21. Denis C.
    Denis C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Friendly welcome from the staff. Good wheelchair access, lovely ambience. Food was excellent and already having a perusal of the menu to see what to have next time.

    RISARO @ The Coventry ArmsRISARO @ The Coventry Arms

    Hi Denis, Thanks for the great feedback. Look forward to seeing you again.

  22. Michelle F.
    Michelle F.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff were very welcoming and kept us informed of wait times and when our food would be ready. They were up against it due to being shot staffed but this didn’t affect any of the service. I booked to go again next week while we were there

    RISARO @ The Coventry ArmsRISARO @ The Coventry Arms

    Hi Michelle, Thanks for the great feedback, and so pleased you came back for a second visit. Hope to see you again

  23. Emma R.
    Emma R.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Service and staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. Sadly my burger was pink in the middle, I didn't want to complain due to being aware that times are difficult atm. The setting was lovely but perhaps you could reconsider the flashy bright white fairy lights and instead opt for softer ones that don't flash.

  24. Darren J.
    Darren J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really super staff very friendly and welcoming, booked before and felt safe . Food excellent we would recommend the Ribs or Brisket, and definitely the fruit crumble absolutely fabulous!! Lovely garden too.

  25. Abi L.
    Abi L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our first time visiting and couldn’t fault it! The food was excellent, amazing quality and huge portions, and the staff were super friendly and helpful. Was perfectly distanced and felt very secure. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

  26. Doug G.
    Doug G.
    • one review
    6/10

    Very disappointed. We arrived at 1230 and quickly greeted and shown to a table. We ordered drinks, my ale was unavailable but a replacement was provided and excellent. After about 10 minutes our food order was taken. It then took an hour to arrive as they had an issue with the ticketing system. When the food arrived it was not hot enough and served on cold plates. The brisket was lovely, the chicken was dry. Also the mayonnaise and Mustard had to be sachets due to Covid but extremely difficult to open. One of the waitresses assisted cheerfully enough. By the time our food arrived we had almost finished our drinks, but as we were driving we couldn’t have more. I realise that with Covid things are more difficult, we have eaten there before with no problems. Also the rain was flooding into the bar, and also dripping into a bucket leading to the Ladies. The bill arrived with no drinks charged, when I questioned this, the waitress had to go to the bar to find out that because of the delay with the food the drinks were complimentary. If only that was said on production of the bill! I love their overnight brisket, but was very disappointed at the lack of direction of the staff. They were very pleasant, but not so well organised. Shame!

  27. Charlee M.
    Charlee M.
    • one review
    4/10

    We left without eating the same as many other family as we were waiting soo long for food. Staff member said he would email with vouchers or something to say sorry and has not.

  28. Steph T.
    Steph T.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were greeted by Katie and shown to our table. Covid-19 rules brilliantly applied and restaurant well spaced. Felt very comfortable and safe. Food was really good and plentiful. . My husband had the brisket & ale pie which he said was best he had had in a long time. I had the mushroom risotto which was very good . Wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Coventry Arms to our friends. Staff very friendly and helpful throughout and a good experience all round. We will be back.

  29. Sam H.
    Sam H.
    • one review
    10/10

    The service was excellent and the both our meals were fantastic, good size servings and very tasty, good value for money. The staff were attentive, helpful and friendly

  30. Ann B.
    Ann B.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    My husband and I ate out here on a Tuesday evening because of the government incentive. My slow-cooked brisket was amazing, as it was very tender. There was also seasonal vegetables, mash and gravy which was so tasty. My husband's meal of ribs were thick and came with fries and a small portion of fries. We will probably return when there is no incentive, as we thought that about £13 for a standard portion of each meal was still good value. We also ordered a pear crumble and were glad that we decided to share this, as it was a very generous portion. It came with a metal sauce bowl with custard in it, which for the quantity of crumble was on the small size.

  31. Lee C.
    Lee C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Driven past a few times on route to get koi from a supplier, Started working up the road in Corfe Mullen and thought would give it a try one weekend. Glad i did the Low and Slow cooked Brisket was amazing. as was the staff all smiling and pleased to help.

  32. Sharon P.
    Sharon P.
    • one review
    7/10

    We had a lovely welcome and were seated in a really nice position in the bar. We ordered our food and drink, when it arrive the garlic bread was missing the cheese, so we waited for that to be corrected. When the main meal arrived it looked lovely But again the cheese was missing from the burger, The burger was really burnt on one side so I did not eat much of it. The dessert was lovely, no complaints there. The waitress apologised but that’s where it ended. A very disappointing lunch that was not cheap!

  33. Rachel  P.
    Rachel P.
    • one review
    8/10

    Thank you to Rachel & her team for a lovely meal & prompt service in a relaxed setting. The bangers & mash were tasty, finished off with a cooling ice cream.

  34. JANE S.
    JANE S.
    • one review
    8/10

    We booked a table for Monday and Tuesday evening, but after appalling service on Monday decided to cancel Tuesday. We were approached by the Manager who apologised to us as well as compensated us too. We said we would come back the next day and when we did everything was good, lovely food and service. Next time we are down this way we will visit again.

  35. Elaine D.
    Elaine D.
    • one review
    2/10

    Arrived on time had to wait for table drink order taken waited half an hour for drinks the starters were just thrown on a plate I had ribs they were dry and very fatty couldn’t eat them my partner had brisket you couldn’t cut it with the knife presentation was awful

  36. Jackie W.
    Jackie W.
    • one review
    2/10

    Bad service, over one hour wait and not even a starter!! No apology, no contact. I cancelled our order, which was the time to say sorry, but no response. The bar person did not speak directly with me, but through a junior member of staff. No manager interaction whatsoever. I offered to pay for the two drinks, which was accepted £11.33. Surely this was the time to apologise and to recoup some PR. We will not return, ever!! Disgusted by how we were treated! I understand about the new systems, Covid etc, but their is no excuse for ignoring a customer, failing to interact, failure to explain why and no apology to boot!

  37. Vanessa H.
    Vanessa H.
    • one review
    2.5/10

    Early sitting 6pm. Was informed may be a delay due to large table booked in. Drink order taken 40 minutes later. Had to ask to order food after 1 hour. Starter arrived after 1.5 hours. Poor standard. Main meal arrived over two hours. . Burger well overcooked and dry. Brisket chewy with cold vegetables. All round very disappointing. Will not return. Two other families complaining as we were. Informed chef not turned up. Bill adjusted very apologetic.

  38. John B.
    John B.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Waited 15mins for a drink. Starter was cold. Waited 40mins for mains. Gave up. Cancelled. Went home

  39. Marc T.
    Marc T.
    • one review
    2.5/10

    Took 90mins from ordering to getting our food. Was given our food at different times and the burgers were burnt, ribs just fatty and glasses were dirty. Was constantly harassed by flies inside so can't imagine how bad outside is.

  40. Chris F.
    Chris F.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was really nice and a lovely garden, lovely stream running through. Although we had the 4 person rib sharer but we managed to demolish it off between 2 of us. For 40 quid I was expecting a bit more food on the plate, only 4 ribs on the plate so would be 1 per person.