Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Staring at Jacob

Jacob Van Lennepkade 215, 1054 Amsterdam
American
Average price €25

Staring at Jacob

Find a table

Book for free

Fully booked on TheFork

Reviews

  • Bianca D.1 review

    10 November 2021

    10/10

    As always,the food and drinks were very yummy, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I always have a hard time choosing, because everything on the menu looks so good :)

  • Kate N.1 review

    23 August 2021

    10/10

    Did not disappoint!! Great place, I would recommend to all

  • Simon W.2 reviews

    20 August 2021

    9/10

    A very nice little brunch place... we ordered the chicken waffle and poached egg & salmon, both are excellent, their homemade lemonade is exceptional

  • Alexandra B.28 reviews

    7 June 2021

    10/10

    The food was delicious and the waiters were incredibly friendly and nice. It’s really one of my favorite places in Amsterdam.

  • Dede k.8 reviews

    19 June 2020

    8.5/10

    Nice atmosphere, amazing location, food was good

  • Ines R.13 reviews

    1 June 2020

    10/10

    The food was amazing and the staff super friendly. All the rules were followed. Mandatory reservation and take away. Coming back for sure ! delicious brunch and mimosas!

    review_preview

    See photo

    Staring at JacobOwner

    Thank you so much :)

  • - -4 reviews

    18 October 2019

    10/10

    Fantastic brunch, the whole menu is really tasty (I have eaten here quite a few times already haha!)

  • Elise D.

    Elise D.10 reviews

    10 June 2019

    10/10

    Definitely the best brunch place in Amsterdam.

  • Rodrigo M.

    Rodrigo M.5 reviews

    25 August 2018

    10/10

    Delicious food and cozy atmosphere

  • Miè T.78 reviews

    17 August 2018

    10/10

    Friendly service and tasty foods, very cozy place :)

  • Mikel O.

    Mikel O.31 reviews

    5 August 2018

    9/10

    Great food, and friendly staff. Only downside is that the portions are quite small.

  • Sean D.34 reviews

    13 July 2018

    9/10

    Fantastic friendly and good food cooked perfectly!

  • Sean D.34 reviews

    20 April 2018

    10/10

    Great food and friendly service.

  • Adrienne A.14 reviews

    13 April 2018

    10/10

    Friendly service , delicious brunch, Happy to sit outside and enjoy fresh food! Thanks

  • Maria V.11 reviews

    30 March 2018

    8.5/10

    Nice atmosphere. The food was good, though the portions are a bit small. Service was great with friendly host.

  • Damai T.

    Damai T.6 reviews

    24 March 2018

    8/10

    The food was delicious and the service was really good! The only downside was the music, too loud.

  • - -1 review

    29 November 2017

    10/10

    Delightful as always ; Nice atmosphere, really good service/cocktail and absolutely excellent food!! The sushi was outstanding , presentation, taste , we liked every single bite from the salmon Aburi to the sushi Galore/Kushi to share .. If you are sushi lover I recommend it at 200%! If you are not sure about sushi just go there and try , they will let you change your mind! Arigato

  • - -1 review

    25 November 2017

    10/10

    Amazing food, service and atmosphere

  • Maria V.11 reviews

    16 November 2017

    7/10

    Very good food and amazing cocktails! I will come back again.

  • - -2 reviews

    3 November 2017

    8.5/10

    Waitress from italy was very kind! Vibe and food were good!

  • - -1 review

    5 June 2017

    8.5/10

    Had brunch today and it was amazing! I had the all around and the bloody mary was the best cocktail i have had in a long time!

  • - -2 reviews

    1 June 2017

    8.5/10

    Location is great, choice of dishes was good and the food tasted delicious. I had the classic Caesar salad with crispy bacon and added as well very tasty chicken to it. Don't forget to order one of the cocktails!

  • Diana A.27 reviews

    22 February 2016

    7.3/10

    I went several times for brunch to Staring at Jacob and I liked it a lot. Especially the waffles and pancakes are great.

  • Magnus Å.13 reviews

    30 August 2014

    5.3/10

    Overpriced and under seasoned. I would have loved for this to be a good review, since a nice brunch place is always welcome and I think that this part of town could do with a nice place. However, there were several things that could have been better. The most important is of course the food itself. I had a braised BBQ pork belly with home made English muffin and beans. At 13 euros I would have expected more than two slices of pork belly the size of a stamp. It is one of the cheapest cuts! There was absolutely no trace of BBQ taste/marinade/sauce on the dish. Surprisingly enough there seemed to be no trace of seasoning at all in the dish, not in on the poached eggs, not on the pork belly and def not in the bland beans. Not even the salad dressing seemed to have any seasoning. The two women working serving weren't very interested in the customers, seemed to be more busy with chitchatting. They also need to do something about the ventilation. I sat outside since sitting inside would have left you smelling like working full time in a snack bar. Too bad, I hope it was just a bad day for them. A pity it had to become one for me!

  • - -1 review

    21 May 2014

    8.5/10

    The unpretentious warm greeting that you receive upon entering serves as a fabulous introduction to this fab brunch spot in the heart of a residential neighborhood. I've been there numerous times and try to return at least once every 10 days to get my dose of American (breakfast) food. The staff is on point and pride themselves on making you feel at home - a rare experience in Amsterdam, where "service" can occasionally be dismal. The crowd is a healthy mix of creative / corporate and local / international clientele - all there to mix and mingle. If you want a spot to grab a quick bite, have a meeting or get some work done on your laptop - I recommend Jacob's!

  • Mw. W.10 reviews

    20 December 2013

    7.5/10

    Have been here twice for brunch now. I think the food is a solid 7.5 but the one major let down is that both times the poached eggs (eggs Benedict) have been undercooked (the white still translucent and jellyish). Some would say undercooked is better than overcooked (and of course the yolk is perfectly runny) however I think there is no excuse for not having a perfectly cooked poached egg if you specialize in brunch! It's really not that hard to poach an egg. Other than that - the menu combinations are quite unusual but work - the Mexican breakfast with fish is delicious, the main breakfast dish (eggs, bacon etc) is served with pancakes and chips but is strangely good - the chicken and waffles are pretty dry as the sauce is served on the side - but generally good. Great coffee and lovely staff.

  • Anne-Cécile R.6 reviews

    10 November 2013

    6/10

    Even when you come in on a Sunday after 3 pm for lunch, you need to wait to get a table. It took about an hour to get our food... it's very noisy and warm inside. Our food was unequal. The muffin under one of the 2 eggs Benedict was very dry an crunchy. The other was delicious though. The pancakes and roasted potatoes too. But the scrambled eggs quite dry.

Tripadvisor reviews

791 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.