Back

Reviews - The Onslow Arms

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 276 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Clare M.
    Clare M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Have been to this pub quite a few times now after lovely walks along the canal. Beautiful setting and always great food and very friendly and obliging staff. Will return after lockdown 2 in December hopefully! Thankyou Onslow Arms ans staff ????????

  2. Anne-Marie W.
    Anne-Marie W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lunch with my parents - their verdict of the fish pie was that it was the best they had ever had! High praise indeed. Attentive service and lovely setting by the Wey and Arun Canal.

  3. Paul W.
    Paul W.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Onslow Arms is our favourite country pub, sited picturesquely on the Wey and Arun Canal. The food is excellent quality and the staff are always friendly and efficient. We lunched there today on the last day before the one month lockdown. We will certainly be back in December and meanwhile it's good to hear that they will be continuing a takeaway service.

  4. Susan H.
    Susan H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Easy to book and welcoming! The food was delicious and is the 2nd time we have been back in the last month! Chef obviously knows what he’s doing & I work in catering, so have an idea of good! Can’t wait for lock-down to be over so we can go for our walk and end up in the Onslow again!

  5. Jonathan L.
    Jonathan L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We enjoyed a very tasty Sunday lunch. The food and service were both excellent. We look forward to returning after lockdown and will also bring our walking boots!

  6. Lynne M.
    Lynne M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    A really nice meal in an old style setting. Lovely young ladies serving, very attentive, polite and prompt. Reasonably priced too. Dog friendly.

  7. Sally R.
    Sally R.
    • one review
    8/10

    Friendly staff and nice food, good service and clear Covid instructions. Our children were made welcome and there was a good choice of food to order.

  8. Lucy W.
    Lucy W.
    • one review
    6/10

    The food was good and so was the service, but the inside is a little lacking in atmosphere. The lights should be lowered as it's very bright in the back room (riverside). it was a little disappointing.

  9. Joanna J.
    Joanna J.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Late lunch after a local walk. More than happy to welcome us with the puppy and find a quiet corner. Chose a range of plates to share including calamari, chicken wings etc and they were lovely. Fresh, warm with speedy service. Attentive staff and cosy atmosphere without feeling overcrowded. Lovely

  10. Nina S.
    Nina S.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    The food was pretty disappointing and we had to ask if the beetroot burger was actually vegetarian. Not the fault of the staff but there was a man at a table nearby coughing quite a lot which made things less than comfortable.

  11. Jane N.
    Jane N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely warm ambiance , food was excellent , staff were very friendly and along with the good service the music in the background was just right ....will be going back

  12. Mike O.
    Mike O.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    We had the Sunday roast and all 3 of us chose the beef today. The food was excellent - meat cooked to perfection (including 2 well done and one rare), plenty of delicious vegetables and great yorkshires. This is currently our favourite pub for a Sunday Roast for miles around.

  13. Teresa M.
    Teresa M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Beautiful setting by the canal. We sat outside to have our lunch which we ordered via the pub’s app, very simple process. Varied menu so something for everyone. Will definitely be going back.

  14. Rachel g.
    Rachel g.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was great and the service was also very good. Covid regulations all excellent. Nice little play are for the children and an added bonus being on the Canal ????

  15. Clare E.
    Clare E.
    • one review
    7/10

    Appreciated the call from the restaurant prior to our booking to alert us to the fact that the grill wasn’t working. This meant the menu choice was limited but we were forewarned! Service was friendly and efficient if a little slow. The food (stew and baked Camembert) was pleasant but a little on the small side. The desserts were nice too. The pub is in a really nice situation by the canal and we had a lovely walk prior to our lunch.

  16. Linda W.
    Linda W.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Onslow Arms has been a favourite for many years, not just for the excellent food but the beautiful setting as well. I have been taking a walking group there for many years and have always found the staff very helpful in accommodating our needs.

  17. Janet B.
    Janet B.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Staff were welcoming but the music was far too loud somebody asked for it to be turned down, which was great. We ordered prawn sandwiches in granary bread waiter came back to tell us they had run out of granary bread, it was only 12.30pm so we had to have white bread, which was awful no taste. One of us ordered a pizza an 8 inch they did not have any more so she had to have a 12 inch. No cream for our coffee so all in all disappointed.

  18. Eileen N.
    Eileen N.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely meal tonight celebrating my birthday. Lovely touch to have a free drink for my birthday from the Onslow, very kind. Food and service really good and being the last day of special September savings was awesome. Great evening in lovely local pub

  19. Sue F.
    Sue F.
    • one review
    10/10

    First visit to The Onsliw Arns, Lovely Old pub, Very friendly helpful staff, Food presented well and very tasty, Will definitely visit again ... soon

    The Onslow ArmsThe Onslow Arms

    Hi Sue, Thank you for visiting us and giving us a 10 out 10. Glad you enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon

  20. Karen A.
    Karen A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Staff are great and very helpful. Food is AMAZING! Recommend the burger. Compliments to the chef and the team at Onslow Arms ????????The views of the canal are stunning

    The Onslow ArmsThe Onslow Arms

    Karen thank you for the 10 out of 10, we really appreciate everyones feedback Look forward to welcoming you back for another burger soon!

  21. Tracey B.
    Tracey B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely meal as always... staff are very friendly and helpful. We sat outside and used the app to order which works well. Very impressed with the “no mask no entry” rule they have adopted and Covid measures are good.

  22. Grace G.
    Grace G.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Food was absolutely terrible. Lukewarm undercooked burger. Pizza was so spicy it was inedible. Staff were apologetic when we eventually got their attention.

  23. Denise B.
    Denise B.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The pub is lovely and the staff were really good. Just a little disappointed with the duck salad as it was mostly salad and hardly any duck and for the price should have been a lot better. My husbands ribs were really good.

  24. Kevin T.
    Kevin T.
    • one review
    5/10

    I had a sandwich as used to have really nice food but looked like who ever made it couldn't be bothered picked granary bread came out just normal brown bread you would get from a shop wasn't happy still charging £7 for it was a joke , customer told us table hadn't been cleaned ,The staff did clean table after that and the app was easy to order food I would still go for a drink but food not a chance

  25. Emily M.
    Emily M.
    • one review
    6/10

    Location was good for what I needed and staff were friendly. The food was disappointing. Had the duck Asian salad and the duck was tough as leather, really overcooked and possible quite ‘old’. The salad vegetables were ok, though the sauce was a bit watery.

  26. Eve T.
    Eve T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fab food, Great service And welcoming vibe. The staff were very hot on clearing and cleaning the tables, as well as demonstrating good COVID-19 working practices. Will happily rebook for another lunch date as I was impressed with all the safety measures in place.

  27. Emma B.
    Emma B.
    • one review
    10/10

    All the food was extremely tasty presented great the staff are friendly and welcoming. And every step has been taken to keep all the government measures in place. Would highly recommend

  28. P E.
    P E.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The pub had clear and precise Covid notices and instructions, pleasant reception on arrival by staff, sat at clear table, all ordering by table, useful app if needed. Food was of a high standard, with food served without too much waiting Thanks to all the staff at pub Really enjoyable time

  29. Claire R.
    Claire R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious Sunday roast in beautiful surroundings. Staff bringing food were super friendly and helpful too. A great place to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon.

  30. Linda A.
    Linda A.
    • one review
    8/10

    We had terrible problems with the ap. The staff were under such pressure and they needed more staff to deal with the lunchtime rush. Taking orders at the table outside would have made life easier for all. Food was lovely and staff were as helpful as they could be under current system.

  31. Frances S.
    Frances S.
    • one review
    7/10

    The pub is in a great place with 2 large gardens and nice play area for kids. The food was simple but very nice. Unfortunately the place is so large that although the staff were friendly and working very hard there just wasn’t enough of them. We waited an hour for our food that we ordered via an app even though we had booked a table inside and were told table service was provided inside. None of the serving staff wore face masks, no clear one way system is in place although there is hand sanitiser available I’m sure these issues could be easily sorted out but unfortunately I doubt I’ll go back to find out.

  32. KAREN B.
    KAREN B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very organized, love the idea of the App table and menu ordering. This idea allows you to choose your meals prior to arrival. Certainly a positive way forward in these difficult times. Staff are lovely and friendly. Meals are perfect, Keep up the good work. Well done .

  33. David T.
    David T.
    • one review
    7/10

    The food was good, majority of the service was good, one guy really unhelpful we didn’t want to order on the app this is not what we do said we needed to sit inside, other guy behind the bar very helpful said we could just order and pay & sit outside. We are the paying customer felt really disappointed as wished we had just left & found another pub. Waitress was lovely so was the other guy would think about visiting again

  34. Nigel M.
    Nigel M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Menu item was explained by friendly staff and not disappointed with our choice.Pleasant Evening

  35. Sylvia T.
    Sylvia T.
    • one review
    8/10

    Very friendly and welcoming staff and good food, which we both thoroughly enjoyed, so we have booked again in a couple of weeks time. They were very busy, so food was a little slow in arriving.

  36. Peter W.
    Peter W.
    • one review
    6/10

    My pint of Badger Beer was cloudy as the barrel had just been changed, obviously the pipes hadn't been drawn enough. My burger wasn't quite cooked, some pink meat I'm afraid. My wife's Ham and Eggs, let's just say we've had better! As it was my wife's birthday I didn't want to complain at the time as this may have spoilt her day.

  37. John C.
    John C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We are staying locally in a cottage nearby whilst visiting family. Booking for a meal was very easy. We were welcomed and offered a choice of seats immediately. There was an excellent choice of meals. The food was very good and the service excellent and friendly.prices were reasonable. All in all a great little find.

  38. Cindy D.
    Cindy D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Booked at the weekend, our request for an outside table by canal was sorted for us, great service after a lovely paddle (with hard work getting over locks!)and the food was really good. Sorted out a refund after app didn't apply the eat out to help out discount, just felt bad no option to leave tip on app and we didnt have any cash. Sorry ???? x

  39. Roo R.
    Roo R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Gorgeous setting, well thought out Covid systems in place. Food was awesome, generous portions and nice to see not just pub classics on the menu. Friendly team, quick service with a smile! It was our first time but will definitely be back with the dog next time :-)

  40. Jodie T.
    Jodie T.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Staff very friendly, great spot right next to the canal. Food I would say was average, not worth the prices. Would I go back... yes for the setting and maybe have a drink or 2.