Back

Reviews The Real Greek - Bankside

9/10

Excellent

based on 129 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Anne W.
    Anne W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    We come here quite regularly and are going to miss The Real Greek in the coming weeks! Love the Filoxenia menu.It's delicious and such good value. Hope to return to this lovely venue soon.

  2. Richard K.
    Richard K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Fork booking system worked. On arrival we were shown to our seats which were appropriately distanced from others. Service from the waiter was prompt and polite. Choice from menu was excellent. Hot and cold choices for mains. Portion sizes are good if you enjoy a Meze. House white wine is recommended, dry but very drinkable. Price is very competitive. Would definitely recommend. Jackfruit was a really delicious ????

  3. Keely H.
    Keely H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went here for lunch & wasn't disappointed! Service great as always & the food was delicious! So fresh & tasty & great value! Will definitely be back!

  4. Gary H.
    Gary H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food, helpful and attentive staff and a lovely atmosphere to end a great day. We shall definitely return???? ...........................

  5. Minna A.
    Minna A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Beautiful food as always & a very friendly and attentive waiter.

  6. Anna B.
    Anna B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Love the Real Greek - we went to Bankside - my 3rd visit. Really don't know how they do the lunch deal for £7.95 in central London! The vegan platter is amazing. Our server was charming and very efficient - Covid precautions are excellent without being too intrusive and we had plenty of time to eat and have desserts and coffee afterwards. London being in Tier 2 was announced as we ate - I do hope that the Real Greek can continue to provide this service

  7. Martine G.
    Martine G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really lovely restaurant beautiful views and excellent food. Friendly polite staff in a safe environment brilliant . Always a great experience here????????

  8. Candice J.
    Candice J.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lovely vibe and good food. Even though the reservation was for 90 minutes, they did not hurry us out and my friend and I were able to enjoy our lunchtime catchup without pressure of the restaurant wanting the table back.

  9. Tarek A.
    Tarek A.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Not the best "The Real Greek" experience. I am a fan of this restaurant but this time the food was not fresh, as if it was simply "reheated". Not sure if it depends on the branch you're using so just incase I won't recommend Bankside.

  10. Sandra L.
    Sandra L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great food in a beautiful location along the Thames. Service was pleasant and professional. Good COVID safety measures in place which is reassuring. Always a banker of a restaurant choice.

  11. Melanie M.
    Melanie M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely table overlook Thames. Great food , great value and great service- really friendly and let us try the wine before we chose. Just what we needed

  12. Louise P.
    Louise P.
    • one review
    10/10

    As a vegetarian I was spoilt for choice. There is a great choice of vegetarian and non- vegetarIan options. Food was excellent and staff very welcoming. Will definitely go again.

  13. Ange G.
    Ange G.
    • one review
    9/10

    Have been here many times it serves delicious food at very reasonable price, welcoming and efficient staff and great location. Will be going again next week to sample more of the menu

  14. Elisa H.
    Elisa H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Great atmosphere. The food was delicious. Would definitely go again! Felt very relaxed even in the circumstances

  15. Kristijan R.
    Kristijan R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service!!

  16. Marta B.
    Marta B.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    A good place to go after visiting Tate Modern. The staff were very pleasant - the atmopsphere a little noisy despite social distancing because of the tiled floors. Some food dishes were excellent, others a little disappointing - overall though good value for money

  17. Robb J.
    Robb J.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was an absolute pleasure in every respect to have lunch at the Real Greek today. Delicious food at sensible prices & cheerful friendly service.The lunchtime vegan platter option was superb - I have never seen the point of Jack fruit before. Lovely retains- a pity they had run out of Greek coffee but these things happen. Will just have to go back again.

  18. Maureen F.
    Maureen F.
    • one review
    9/10

    What a great location with brilliant views. We were warmly welcomed & our waiter pointed out the Filoxenia dinner menu to us which was a real bargain. The restaurant was busy but service was quick & friendly, the food delicious & the wine excellent.

  19. Kelly H.
    Kelly H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great location sat outside on my own by the Thames and good atmosphere. The service was really good and so friendly. The food was delicious and great value for the lunch menu at £7.95, I had the Greek Plate with felafel, so was amazed to find they still had the 50% offer so I only paid £3.98 plus beer. Would definitely return

  20. Linda L.
    Linda L.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a very nice evening at the Real Greek. Plenty of food, good service and excellent value for money. Nicely situated on the Thames, easy to get to.

  21. Tim P.
    Tim P.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The food and service were excellent. Good varied menu, reasonably priced and well presented. Eve been several times and yet to be disappointed.

  22. Nikki F.
    Nikki F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely food and great service, mentioned it was two of the girls birthday before leaving and they brought over two slices of their chocolate cheesecake and candles. Reasonable prices, food is always decent and our waiter today was very attentive and helpful.

  23. Yael M.
    Yael M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice spot. Good value.

  24. Amy a.
    Amy a.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Love this restaurant for meeting with friends and having a great choice of yummy bits and bobs! Although it was August it was freezin and peein down with rain, but the restaurant still had the doors open for the summer season so we were a bit chilly. Also as it got busier, the staff weren't as sensitive to people waving to them as they could have been. But i will deffo be back!

  25. Jill T.
    Jill T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great value for money even when eating on a non ' Eat out to help out' day. Food is delicious and plenty of vegetarian options. Great views too of the river Thames. We felt very safe in the restaurant with staff observing good Covid safety measures.

  26. Amanda B.
    Amanda B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great tasty food! During covid times, staff wore masks and were welcoming, hand sanitizer stations and plastic dividers between seating, I felt very safe eating there!

  27. Allan W.
    Allan W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent choice of menu have been before and will always go when in London easy to get to plesent surroundings. Lamb cutlets are not to be missed.

  28. Alison E.
    Alison E.
    • one review
    9/10

    Considering the strange times we are living in, very warm and friendly service. Delicious food, liked almost every single dish that we all tried. A good variety for meat eaters ad vegetarians, a bit of the view of the river. It was lovely to go out and eat and feel as if there are still things you can really enjoy!

  29. Claire C.
    Claire C.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Welcoming and friendly. Did everything they could to provide us with what we needed. Even my bed is to an outside table with cushioned chairs as friend has a bad back. Food ok and a fair price. Ample portions. Atmosphere limited by building works in area preventing views..

  30. Clare D.
    Clare D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Always great service and delicious food, a favourite with all our family when we visit London it has to include a visit to The Real Greek at Bankside. Today was our first post lockdown visit to a restaurant and we felt safe and witnesses good hygiene procedures in action.

  31. Serhan B.
    Serhan B.
    • one review
    5/10

    The food was cold and tasty, it doesn’t look like real greak food

  32. Melanie S.
    Melanie S.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of our favourite restaurants. Great quick delicious food, great easy service and good value for money, always leave full and happy. With the way out to help out scheme you really cannot ask for more. Will definitely be back!

  33. Winona L.
    Winona L.
    • one review
    6/10

    Flavours were decent but everything was really dry even when it came with sauce/dip. Had high hopes since most reviews are good but was quite disappointed, glad i came when there was 50% deal because I wouldn’t be happy paying full price

  34. Samantha M.
    Samantha M.
    • one review
    7/10

    Disappointed! The Real Greek Bankside not up to usual standards today. Lovely food but we felt a bit forgotten, that as customers we were interrupting something important the staff were doing. I know it’s COVID, I know it’s hot. No air conditioning either. Maybe the chain is too big now it doesn’t have the same authenticity that it did. Was a favourite for my family but sadly won’t be in a hurry to return.

  35. Melcan B.
    Melcan B.
    • one review
    10/10

    All staf work hard to provide good service! It was amazing dinner.

  36. Paul W.
    Paul W.
    • one review
    7/10

    Able to arrive early for our booking which enabled us to choose a window/ outdoor seat. Waitress attentive but order was not complete and items did not arrive but remained on the bill. Food was plentiful and tasty with various Fava Bean, Breads and Lamb dishes well executed. Enjoyed the “tapas” concept of choice for the table and the sharing dining experience. The Greek rose wine was a good recommendation.

  37. Lisa B.
    Lisa B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We have walked past here on previous visits to London. Really glad we booked for tonight, the service and food were fabulous. Great value for money and friendly atmosphere. We will be back.

  38. Beverley C.
    Beverley C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food very tasty and Well presented. Staff very attentive. Loved all the meze dishes, my favourite was the meatballs., Will definitely be back.

  39. Lex P.
    Lex P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Lovely food, as always. Great service in changing times.

  40. David B.
    David B.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The food was frankly underwhelming with very small portions served on a tiny tiered stand which has become the norm in Greek restaurants in London. I have never seen these used in Greece. However, one of the deserts, a custard pie (bougata) was freshly cooked, served with a ball of vanilla ice-cream and delicious. The wines were also quite acceptable. The service was very friendly and tables well-spaced and socially distanced.