Back

Reviews - The Restaurant at Kingscliff Hotel

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 36 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Paula W.
    Paula W.
    • one review
    9/10

    Love eating at The Kingscliff......menu not too fussy and prices are keen. we are local and visit often. Staff are always polite and helpful. Shall be trying out the new Pod in the garden soon.....

  2. Clare w.
    Clare w.
    • one review
    7/10

    Lovely meal good price on the Christmas Dinner but service was slow

  3. Nicola G.
    Nicola G.
    • one review
    10/10

    We have been here for several lunch time dates and always had the afternoon tea but decided on the lunch time menu for a change . Food was lovely . Only negative was tried to look on the website to see what the lunch menu was like and couldn’t find anything ???

  4. JOANNE R.
    JOANNE R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Brilliant staff , felt safe, very clean , fantastic food , the restaurant and the new setting area very nice , very happy my favourite pub in Clacton On sea

  5. Wendy P.
    Wendy P.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Staff were attentive to the extreme. We were hassled so many times. We had a 7pm reservation and we were told we would have to vacate our table by 8pm. This was strange as there were spare tables all evening. Didn't realise we were entering a fast food restaurant!! One meal had to be returned, as it was overcooked and tough. Prawn cocktail starter was a joke! Very disappointed.

  6. Russell O.
    Russell O.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    This was our 3rd /4th visit and as always very friendly and helpful staff, food was nice, Some portion sizes were odd, my Crab Taco starters was very nice and a good sized portion, but my wife had the spring rolls and they seemed very small in comparison even though they were nice. The liver and Bacon was very good. Our only moan was that we had a rude loud table next to us so we could hardly hear ourselves talk, so we left as soon as we finished our meal.

  7. Rev K.
    Rev K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very friendly staff

  8. Lynne P.
    Lynne P.
    • one review
    8/10

    The restaurant it's self has been beautifully refurbished and has a lovely atmosphere. The staff are helpful and friendly. The food was a little salty for my taste and maybe a few daily specials would boost the menu

  9. Rita D.
    Rita D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had a family meal where everyone enjoyed all courses of the meal. The service was very good, apart from clearing the table of glasses, although to be fair the restaurant was full and very busy.

  10. Siobhan c.
    Siobhan c.
    • one review
    10/10

    amazing staff were friendly and food was lovely and hot all came out at same time as there was 7 of us and have no complaints at all, booked again for husbands birthday

  11. Kim W.
    Kim W.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant was lovely. It feels comfortable to sit in; no noise or interuption from other tables. The service was fast and all the staff were polite, chatty and knowledgeable. We had one meal of Lamb Shank and one of Calves liver with bacon etc. Both were top quality and served promptly. Desert was also lovely. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  12. Carol d.
    Carol d.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Enjoyable meal well presented reasonable price nice atmosphere

  13. Marilyn J.
    Marilyn J.
    • one review
    6/10

    Had to send one meal back - meals ok but not great - service fine and very quick to address problems and refund.

  14. Jackie D.
    Jackie D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went with my friend for her birthday lunch. As soon as we arrived the staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  15. Elizabeth S.
    Elizabeth S.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    It was the first time in the restaurant and we both enjoyed our meal ,the service was good and staff friendly and accommodating, we will definitely be going again..

  16. Stephen m.
    Stephen m.
    • one review
    10/10

    very enjoyable meal all the better with such good staff.

  17. Jacqui C.
    Jacqui C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent service excellent food. I want keen in the pepsi,I thought it had a strange taste. Waiter changed it for me with iced water that I asked for instead Love the decor. Though I do like a tea light on a table ? Will definitely be returning with friends Thank you Kingscliff wonderful evening for our anniversary.

  18. Anne H.
    Anne H.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    N\A

  19. Lynn G.
    Lynn G.
    • one review
    10/10

    the restaurant was excellent, nicely decorated and the food was really good.

  20. Roger P.
    Roger P.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Our second visit in a month. Just as good an experience as last time - good food, pleasant surroundings and helpful, efficient staff. We'll be back!

  21. David T.
    David T.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Good basic pub menu at reasonable prices. Very attentive service although you should not have to ask for a jug of water. Only downside is the loud awful background music even for breakfast. Nice views of garden and patio.

  22. Roger P.
    Roger P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We have been to the Kingscliff many times in the past 30-plus years, for many kinds of occasion,but had been put off it in recent years until the present owner took over. On our recent visit for an evening meal we were really pleased. We had an excellent 3-course meal with drinks, with plenty of choice on the menu, and felt it was good value for money. The young staff were attentive, efficient and friendly. There was a pleasant, peaceful atmosphere in the dining room and, as we have done in the past, we were able to have our meal looking out over the sea. Provided the Kingscliff maintains this standard, we shall happily go again.

  23. Helen S.
    Helen S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Highly recommend, refurbished restaurant looks lovely, food was gorgeous and service great too, we will be back

  24. Malcolm W.
    Malcolm W.
    • one review
    10/10

    New decor and setting is a great improvement over the previous hotel restaurant. Menu offerings were not too many making the choice of food nice and easy. Excellent service from all Kingcliff Hotel staff we encountered.