Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - The Sichuan

9.1/10
210
14 City Road, EC1Y 2AA London
Chinese
Average price £25

The Sichuan

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent210 reviews
9.1/10

Food

9.4/10

Service

8.8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Geoff G.1 review

    15 May 2024

    10/10

    Excellent Chinese restaurant. The food was great at reasonable prices, the services was attentive without out being intrusive. I booked a table for 2 on spec as I needed to find a place quickly for dinner and was very pleased with my experience. It is certainly a restaurant I will go back to.

  • Stelios G.1 review

    23 February 2024

    10/10

    Food was great, and the staff were lovely as always. Thanks for a great night!

  • Melody L.5 reviews

    27 February 2024

    9.5/10

    Great as always!

  • ken r.1 review

    20 February 2024

    9.5/10

    Great little restaurant offering wonderful food

  • Heather W.1 review

    15 February 2024

    10/10

    The staff were extremely friendly and kept the dishes coming in a pace that matched our ability to eat!! Wonderful food and flavor I haven’t experienced anywhere else!

  • Brenda H.2 reviews

    31 January 2024

    10/10

    This is one of those places that you REALLY don't want to share the good feedback about because it will become too busy! But I have to be honest and say that the food, service and prices make it an absolute gem in the City. Please don't visit!

  • Vicky P.1 review

    31 December 2023

    10/10

    I have been a couple of times at The Sichuan 5 or 7 years ago,at that time enjoyed tge food and thought it was a lovely Chinese restaurant. The food was 100 % delicious,this year decided to take my friends there for new years eve. I was curious to see if the food was still the same,after so many years. Sure enough it was amazing,my friends and I enjoyed the food and the service was good too. Thank you to the chief at the Sichuan for cooking so well and thanks to the waiters for a great service. Happy New year 2024

  • Jakub B.1 review

    22 December 2023

    10/10

    Best Sichuan restaurant in London and quite possibly the best Chinese too. Have eaten here several times and the food is always excellent with lots of interesting choices. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the place is always buzzy and busy

  • Alexander A.8 reviews

    15 November 2023

    10/10

    Authentic flavourful food

  • Kevin P.1 review

    20 October 2023

    8/10

    Good food (but not excellent) and service but a bit disappointing that the lunch special options seem to have vanished from the menu. That said it was still reasonable as an a la carte menu choice for where it is in the city. The person I was treating appreciated the food, particularly the beef he had (which he said was the best he had eaten in a Chinese restaurant). Busy but not too busy so that was great.

  • Mark C.

    Mark C.1 review

    14 September 2023

    9.5/10

    Excellent food, staff is friendly and have good advice on what to eat. Comfortable environment. The Man and Wife offal salad is so damn good, and the auxiliary materials add the needed hot and cold slap to your taste buds.

  • John E.3 reviews

    14 September 2023

    9.5/10

    All good

  • Andrew D.1 review

    16 August 2023

    10/10

    Great staff and excellent food and a real pleasure to go to a restaurant in London with such a warm and genuine welcome for customers. Real value for money as well.

  • Petet D.2 reviews

    18 July 2023

    10/10

    A real hidden gem. Outstanding casual place to eat. Could not fault a single dish, consistently good quality every time I go here. Have been with friends, family and on business.

  • Jen Y.22 reviews

    25 June 2023

    8/10

    Delicious food and lovely service

  • Ian D.2 reviews

    14 June 2023

    9/10

    I went with a native Chinese and we both agreed that the food was authentic and very good. We found a quiet corner and were pleasantly surprised as to how long we stayed.

  • Vivien W.1 review

    6 June 2023

    10/10

    My first time eating but definitely not my last. Excellent service and delicious food. It was a bit noisy as the tables are quite close together but not enough to distract from the food or the conversation

  • Simon L.2 reviews

    5 May 2023

    10/10

    Such a great restaurant - friendly service and excellent food. It was so good that I returned the very next day to eat here again! The beef black bean was a highlight.

  • Makoto A.1 review

    18 April 2023

    9.5/10

    We went for a farewell dinner and staffs here are really kind from the preparation such as table setting. Foods are all good and we definitely come again.

  • S C.1 review

    29 March 2023

    9.5/10

    The food was superb, the prices very reasonable and the service was very good despite the restaurant being very busy as it was lunchtime. I recommend this as a good place for a team lunch.

  • Sangeun L.1 review

    24 March 2023

    10/10

    This was amazing experience. I love this restaurant. I visited the second time. staffs are very good. I want to visit again for sure. I would never regret to decide any meal here. Absolutely nice

  • Jane Xu2 reviews

    15 March 2023

    10/10

    Authentic Sichuan food, really tasty, will definitely go back again.

  • Joshua T.

    Joshua T.1 review

    10 March 2023

    10/10

    Amazing taste, amazing waitress, and good ambiance. Highly recommend if you’re in the area and in the mood for authentic Chinese food to enjoy ????

  • Cairo K.1 review

    26 February 2023

    10/10

    Best Chinese food in the city. Lovely service. Amazing value for the price. Hands down my favourite restaurant to dine at.

  • Benjamin T.1 review

    24 February 2023

    10/10

    Great staff and good food. Would cone back everytime.

  • Seung-Joo L.1 review

    13 February 2023

    9.5/10

    Nice food and friendly people. Both are much more than I expected. I will go to this restaurant definitely again. Early Monday evening was not very busy. I am not sure when they are busy it could be the same.

  • Wendy B.1 review

    11 February 2023

    10/10

    Great food, such a varied menu, so nice to be able to try different dishes. Excellent service as usual. All dishes are delicious and served hot, we shared the main so we could all try something different.

  • THOMAS B.4 reviews

    24 December 2022

    10/10

    Amazing Sichuan food and friendly staff to help you negotiate the big menu. The tastiest for my palate were the dishes loaded with tingly Sichuan pepper. I want to go back and try the Sichuan hot pot, as we missed that having indulged in other delights.

  • Jessica C.8 reviews

    9 December 2022

    9/10

    Authentic Sichuan Food

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Garry M.1 review

    4 December 2022

    10/10

    The food was superb and the service was really good too. We had a great time............................................................

  • evan r.5 reviews

    4 December 2022

    8.5/10

    Lovely, attentive service, relaxed atmosphere, a very pleasant meal.

  • Nalin J.15 reviews

    20 October 2022

    9.5/10

    Very good food and service

  • Csaba T.

    Csaba T.20 reviews

    26 September 2022

    6/10

    We were in a terrible hurry and there was really fast service and food was immediately on the table. Kudus to kitchen and service. However in the kitchen there was a terrible noise - almost like an old telephone going off every minute - felt like a canteen.

  • Michelle P.1 review

    11 August 2022

    8.5/10

    Great food and lovely service!

  • Gary R.17 reviews

    3 August 2022

    10/10

    Great food, very authentic, nice and spicy and brought back fond memories of our time in Asia. Service was very good also with good options for kids who don't like it spicy.

  • Priyesh P.8 reviews

    20 July 2022

    10/10

    Great experience, food was amazing, great service and decor was nice. Highly recommend.

  • Carolyn L.4 reviews

    25 June 2022

    9.5/10

    Tasty, quality ingredients, good service. Portions too generous for me. We had starters and mains and could have shared.

  • Han Wu

    Han Wu6 reviews

    21 June 2022

    10/10

    This authentic Chinese restaurant is superb and fantastic. We tried several traditional sichuan food, though a bit spicy but we really enjoyed it! Strongly recommend!

  • Guu J.4 reviews

    21 June 2022

    10/10

    Nice food and great vibe

  • Nelli P.

    Nelli P.1 review

    19 June 2022

    9.5/10

    Delicious food, super quick service! Highly recommended! The team was also super friendly and attentive. We really enjoyed our time there for father’s day celebration.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

176 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.