Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - The Walton Fox

9/10
90
Lostock Lane, PR5 Preston
Pizzeria
Average price £25

The Walton Fox

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9/10
Excellent90 reviews
9.2/10

Food

8.9/10

Service

8.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Emlyn W.3 reviews

    13 July 2024

    10/10

    Excellent food and a warm inviting atmosphere and the service was great

  • Paul J.8 reviews

    25 May 2024

    10/10

    Always get a nice meal here, excellent friendly staff too.

  • Alan M.1 review

    7 January 2024

    7.5/10

    I booked table for 6 on line and had two confirmations , one from fork and one from vintage inns however when we arrived there was no record of booking Fortunately we could be accommodated When we asked for glutton free menu we were give iPad but unfortunately there was nothing on the menu that was glutton free ! Our waitress said she would ask the kitchen and quickly returned with the information Food and service excellent but think some work on your software would be beneficial

  • Victoria T.5 reviews

    15 November 2023

    9/10

    Lovely food and atmosphere.

  • Victoria t.18 reviews

    27 July 2023

    9/10

    Good as allways

  • Claire C.10 reviews

    13 July 2023

    10/10

    Excellent service and consistently good food here. Plenty of choice on food and drinks menus.

  • Victoria T.5 reviews

    24 June 2023

    8/10

    Good as always

  • demi m.3 reviews

    24 June 2023

    8/10

    Spot on as always

  • demi m.3 reviews

    20 June 2023

    10/10

    Really nice setting, great food. Will call again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Victoria t.18 reviews

    20 June 2023

    10/10

    Never fails be bk soon

  • Victoria T.5 reviews

    14 June 2023

    10/10

    Lovely pub, great atmosphere and fantastic food.

  • Victoria t.18 reviews

    10 June 2023

    8/10

    Good food nice setting will call again

  • Claire C.10 reviews

    28 May 2023

    10/10

    Great staff and clean tables, serve a good pint and good food.

  • Claire C.10 reviews

    4 May 2023

    10/10

    Lovely pub with original features and a live fire in winter months. The food is always consistent, and staff are friendly and helpful. Good stocked bar, always a good pint.

  • LYNN L.1 review

    15 February 2023

    9/10

    Lovely restaurant and great food. Service slow tonight (15/02/2023) although usually great. I'm usually here once a week and always have a good experience

  • Carren B.1 review

    18 July 2022

    10/10

    Lovely atmosphere and really good food and good value for money. Staff were lovely and friendly. We went round lunch and would go again. I would recommend.

  • Paul W.1 review

    10 May 2022

    10/10

    An excellent meal. The waitress was very polite and helpful A very nice well run restaurant and pub. The only complaint was that everything closed down at 2200. I would definitely recommend though.

  • Patti S.1 review

    19 April 2022

    10/10

    Pleasant welcome and excellent service. A very polite and efficient waitress. Will definitely return. It is the second time we have been and both experiences were pleasurable.

  • Bev W.1 review

    4 April 2022

    7.5/10

    Staff very helpful.

  • Kirsty B.1 review

    10 December 2021

    10/10

    Always great food and service here, never have any complaints

  • James C.1 review

    15 November 2021

    8/10

    The service was second to none. However the mains where tepid onion rings cold burger cold other than that it was a lovely night with an unhurried vibe

  • EMMA F.1 review

    8 November 2021

    8.5/10

    Excellent food, decent service

  • Janey D.1 review

    7 November 2021

    4/10

    Bar service was great. Food was a terrible disappointment. Part of the food didn’t arrive and when I told a passing waiter that two items were missing, one incomplete item was brought out. My meal was either over cooked (roast vegetables) dry and not quite cooked (roast potatoes and triple cooked chips), or so undercooked that I couldn’t put my knife or fork into (huge chunks of carrot) and so left half of the items on the plate. No follow up was made so we were unable to point out our disappointment and I’d definitely not bother trying to eat here again.

  • Carmel M.1 review

    3 November 2021

    10/10

    The Walton Fox is always excellent. The staff are very efficient and friendly and the food is brilliant with a really good choice. Great atmosphere and a wonderfully handy meeting place.

  • Jan K.

    Jan K.2 reviews

    31 October 2021

    10/10

    Food excellent, service excellent, staff very friendly, no negatives , would highly recommend definitely going again......................

  • Susan C.1 review

    24 October 2021

    5/10

    The roast dinner wasn't overly hot. Two meals were served and then there was quite a wait till the other two meals were served. We ordered two of the hot drink and mini desserts. The coffee came straight away but we had to ask for the desserts to be served as we had waited for them for some time. The waitress's response was well the coffee is usually served first. The size of the full price banoffee pie was also very disappointing. Overall not a great experience will hesitate to go there again.

  • Andrea S.1 review

    17 October 2021

    4.5/10

    This is the second time that we have not been happy, we thought we would give them the benefit of the doubt. Food was cold and veg looked awful. My steak was tough and inedible. I returned my meal to the kitchen and it was removed from the bill. Staff were helpful and polite.

  • Diane W.1 review

    15 September 2021

    10/10

    The food was really good presented well and good sized portions. We all enjoyed what we had. Staff were pleasant and attentive

  • David S.1 review

    15 September 2021

    9.5/10

    Lovely mid week evening meal in pleasant surroundings. Only had starters and mains as not enough room for a pudding. Prompt service, piping hot food and not rushed. Good value for money. Not our first visit and wont be our last.

  • Barbara P.1 review

    25 August 2021

    10/10

    We have dined here a number of times pre pandemic. Today was our first time back. It was lovely. Didn't feel too close to other diners. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The food was great. Hot and delicious. It is definitely a regular place for us when dining out.

  • Jen D.1 review

    20 August 2021

    10/10

    We were welcomed and shown to our table. Friendly staff and quality food, we will definitely visit again soon. Would highly recommend. Our party included a disabled person struggling to walk and every help was given by the staff.

  • Andy w.

    Andy w.1 review

    19 August 2021

    9.5/10

    My first visit to the Walton Fox and I was not disappointed. It was a mid week family treat for my step daughter and her young family. The service was prompt and courteous, our food was varied and all to a high standard, I was especially impressed with the meals for the three young boys, they were above and beyond the usual "kiddie meal" standard. The atmosphere was relaxed and very pleasant and the final bill was a little less than I might have expected. I would definitely recommend the Walton Fox and I will visit again.

  • Debbie B.1 review

    8 August 2021

    10/10

    Food was lovely and service was excellent staff really helpful have been before for lunch and dinner and will be back there again did not disappoint

  • John m.1 review

    1 August 2021

    4/10

    Going for a Sunday lunch should be simple it's a British institute every mother in the country has cooked there family one ...so you would assume a restaurant cooking this would be easy ...not for the Walton fox.. prawn cocktail starter prawns leaves and a teaspoon of sauce what kind of sauce I'm not quite sure .. main course roast potatoes the were more like boiled spuds and blow torched carrots that the fork could not pick up as the fork could not pierce the carrot it was so hard lamb as many are aware of is a fatty meat but that does not mean it can not be trimmed before serving there for actual getting lamb on a plate rather than fat ..Needless to say we did not stay for desert but reluctantly paid and maid our way home where we then cooked our tea

  • John G.1 review

    25 July 2021

    7.5/10

    Reduced menu on a Sunday evening but a good selection of dishes available at reasonable prices. Very convenient place being adjacent to the Premier Inn we were staying at so no driving involved meant alcohol was!

  • Michelle G.1 review

    23 July 2021

    10/10

    Staff were lovely and friendly, quick service with no waiting time, lovely and quite and great to catch up with my friend after lockdown. Food was great.

  • Carol B.1 review

    15 July 2021

    10/10

    All our requests at the time of booking were met i.e., a window seat in a quiet and isolated area. The staff were friendly and attentive but not obtrusive and service excellent. The ambience at the Walton Fox is good as is the style and decor. The food was service speedily, was hot and excellent. My husband and I both said that it was the best Hunters Chicken we have ever had. One thing though we think the portion of chips was rather small which is the trouble when they are served in containers. I would suggest these are placed on the plate. Everyone enjoyed their meal and the desserts were good too! Will certainly go again.

  • Anita T.1 review

    1 July 2021

    6.5/10

    The eating area is very large at this pub, However despite us being a party of 2 business colleagues, who arrived separately & clearly had business to discuss, the staff thought it appropriate for us to be surrounded on all sides by parents with small pre school noisy children. Why not sit them (or us) in another area? Designated children's area suggested! We ended up leaving our table as soon as we could as we couldn't hear each other speak (and after only ONE drink)to sit outside & no outside table service thereafter!! Poor service indeed.

  • Hazel B.1 review

    18 June 2021

    10/10

    Was welcomed and taken to a lovely snug table by the window , perfect position. The waitress was lovely and very helpful. The food was well presented, tasty and hot. The portion sizes where great as was the value . So will be returning soon. Thank You.

  • Diane W.1 review

    10 June 2021

    10/10

    We like the Walton Fox, it’s handy, never had a bad meal & the staff are professional & helpful. Sunday Lunch excellent, light lunch lovely and we used the ‘app’ to order outside on the last visit, it was easy & good fast service.

Tripadvisor reviews

990 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.