Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - The Wyvern Restaurant at The Kings Arms Hotel

8.3/10
221
30 High Street, HP7 0DJ Amersham
British
Average price £25

The Wyvern Restaurant at The Kings Arms Hotel

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 3 bookings today

Reviews

8.3/10
Very good221 reviews
8.1/10

Food

8.6/10

Service

8.3/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Paul H.1 review

    17 June 2024

    7/10

    Our expectations for a dining experience at Wyven was very high , based on previous numerous occasions dining there. Not to be repeated however. We very much looked forward to breakfast by the street window on the first morning - not to happen despite a confirmation for our advanced reservation. We were referred to a restaurant down the street owned by the same organization. Our advanced reservation request for dinner on night two was confirmed. Not to happen. We were relocated to the adjoining pub. At the arranged time for dining we arrived at the pub location only to find it fully occupied. When we reported our predicament at the reservation desk we were delighted to learn that we had been reassigned to the original location. Several menu items were not available. Second choices became the default. After a long wait for service we were told there were sudden staff issues. Food was substandard. Ambience was the only saviour. Breakfast on morning two was back to expectation.

  • David C.1 review

    17 June 2024

    6/10

    Many of the items on the menu weren't available

  • Mark R.1 review

    14 June 2024

    10/10

    Both an afternoon snack in the bar and an evening dinner at the Wyvern were wonderful. The food and drink were excellent, and service was so good and friendly that we even asked the name of the bartender (Asbel) who had made a special order martini and also waited on table. He and a colleague waitress (whose name we didn't get) made the meal perfect - helped along by its very attractive and historic setting at the Kings Arms.

  • Amber S.1 review

    6 June 2024

    8/10

    Lovely restaurant with great service, I had made a few requests as a member of our party has mobility issues & these were accommodated. It was a birthday celebration & a beautifully presented dessert with candle was given to the birthday girl.

  • John M.2 reviews

    1 June 2024

    7.5/10

    The food was very good but the service was very slow.

  • Colin W.1 review

    26 May 2024

    10/10

    Brilliant! Super food and excellent service. Couldn’t have been better. Many thanks.

  • Barbara M.1 review

    23 May 2024

    2/10

    I booked a table in the restaurant for three people on Thursday 23rd May. On the day of the booking I received an email saying that they had a large party in the restaurant so they had moved us to the bar area. I said that was no problem. However when we arrived at the bar they said there was no food being served in the bar and they had not been told of our booking, no alternative offered. So we had to go somewhere else. Terrible customer service. Would not recommend.

  • Sylvia B.1 review

    2 May 2024

    9.5/10

    Great service, very nice ambiance, good food.

  • Katie H.2 reviews

    20 April 2024

    10/10

    We went for lunch having been before, we enjoyed the food and the waiter was polite and helpful. Would return and recommend.

  • Kevin S.1 review

    26 March 2024

    10/10

    Lovely oak beamed restaurant, clean and tidy with a friendly staff and good food.

  • Colin F.1 review

    26 March 2024

    6.5/10

    The restaurant was nice, and the food good, but the service was incredibly slow. We were given a free glass of wine as compensation, but it spoiled what should have been an enjoyable evening.

  • Roger S.1 review

    10 March 2024

    4.5/10

    Unfortunately, on the day we booked to eat - Mothers Day - the restaurant had three staff absent. This led to a dreadful experience on what should have been a memorable occcasion. The two staff left to do all the service were great and deserve huge praise for attempting to salvage what they could from an impossible situation. But the kitchen has no excuse for not serving pre-booked/pre-paid food that included gluten free options that were just not delivered. Yes, the restaurant refunded in full the cost of the meal but the special occasion cannot be replaced and no further compensation was offered.

  • Dewi R.1 review

    18 March 2024

    10/10

    Beautiful pub with beautiful restaurant and wonderful ambience. The food and wine were excellent and service from a lovely waitress and barman. Thank you.

  • Elisabeth N.2 reviews

    23 February 2024

    8.5/10

    The food was lovely as was the service and staff. The only thing was, it was a bit cold in there for my friend and I.

    The Wyvern Restaurant at The Kings Arms HotelOwner

    Hi Elisabeth, thank you so much for your review! We're sorry you were a little chilly - we would usually have our fire lit but we're having some maintenance work to our chimney at the moment! We hope to see you again soon! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

  • Kate W.1 review

    17 February 2024

    10/10

    The restaurant was a great find, I had previously only eaten at the pub, which is also great. The staff were welcoming and the service was superb. The atmosphere, food and details were lovely. I look forward to visiting again soon.

    The Wyvern Restaurant at The Kings Arms HotelOwner

    Hi Kate! Thank you so much. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

  • Stephen D.1 review

    20 February 2024

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant and very friendly and attentive staff.

    The Wyvern Restaurant at The Kings Arms HotelOwner

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

  • Angela V.1 review

    13 February 2024

    9/10

    As there were no other guests at lunch today we had a relaxing time in the delightful dining room and our young waitress was charming and helpful.We enjoyed our meals very much and would certainly be happy to come again to try some of your other choices on the menu ,

    The Wyvern Restaurant at The Kings Arms HotelOwner

    Hi Angela! Thank you so much for a lovely review. Hopefully we'll see you again soon! Daniella and the Old Amersham Hotels team

  • Denise H.1 review

    6 February 2024

    10/10

    Had an exceptional meal at the kings arms tonight. Food is superb and service was spot on. The restaurant was stunning with a great ambiance. Will definitely be returning.

    The Wyvern Restaurant at The Kings Arms HotelOwner

    Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Daniella and The Kings Arms Team

  • Chris B.1 review

    28 January 2024

    7/10

    Friendly staff and a lovely old building. Decent food. We enjoyed it and would go again.

  • Dan C.1 review

    28 January 2024

    7/10

    Food was very good, service was a little vague. Ambience was a little quiet, perhaps some background music to make it less awkward when the restaurant is empty.

  • Pamela J.2 reviews

    15 January 2024

    9.5/10

    This was my first time at this restaurant but it will not be my last! It was really good. We had booked an early dinner so were the first in restaurant and it was cold and they arranged for a little heater to be put near our table which was fantastic. Food was delicious - I had pate to start which was lovely, my guest had the soup (which they found a little under seasoned but that was easily remedied). We then had the burger and the chicken and both were delicious. good sized portions but not enormous. Will definitely be back

  • Jane M.1 review

    5 December 2023

    10/10

    Wonderful food, friendly prompt service and a great atmosphere. Will definitely be back thank you :)

  • Luana A.1 review

    3 December 2023

    10/10

    Great time was had by all, lovely historic place , friendly welcoming staff , good food at a good price. Will definitely return & recommend. Was there for a sunday lunch .

  • Jane F.1 review

    3 December 2023

    5.5/10

    Very poor service very slow! Food poor and very expensive for what was offered. Beef no horseradish! Pork very skimpy portion no crackling just fat! No apple sauce etc Very disappointing for a Sunday lunch !

  • Susan B.1 review

    14 November 2023

    9.5/10

    We live close to this restaurant and have dined there on a number of occasions. This week was the best experience so far. The menu is not extensive and leans towards gastro pub but what we had was well cooked, hot and tasty. The waitress was attentive and helpful. It was a weekday evening and quiet, but would happily go again.

  • Jill H.1 review

    6 November 2023

    10/10

    Lovely place and so welcoming. The food and service was brilliant

  • David H.1 review

    5 November 2023

    5/10

    Good food but dreadful service, 30 mins from time of order to soup starter arriving. Mains arrived at same time as starter. 2 plates cleared eventually by staff and 3rd plate left. Desserts took 20 mins to arrive after ordering. Had temerity to try and charge 12.5% service which I naturally rejected.

  • Hazel H.2 reviews

    31 October 2023

    10/10

    For a quiet Tuesday (Halloween) night, the cosy restaurant was quite busy! We received very efficient & friendly service and lovely food! The chicken dish which I had ordered was unavailable, but I was given a very good alternative!

  • Andrea J.1 review

    28 October 2023

    10/10

    We were greeted warmly. Our lovely wait lady was American and happily ‘translated ‘ chips for our two American guests ! She was attentive without being intrusive. Our drinks waiter was equally good. We all loved our selection of dishes.

  • Michael K.1 review

    14 October 2023

    10/10

    Corina our server was really amazing, friendly, helpful and the perfect level of attentive.

  • Trevor A.2 reviews

    22 September 2023

    8/10

    Nice food at reasonable cost However A New experience being served Irish coffee in a cup????

  • Ann C.1 review

    17 September 2023

    8.5/10

    A bit disappointed with the small selections of puddings, it would have been good to have a wafer of some type with the icecream

  • Deborah T.1 review

    24 August 2023

    2/10

    I made an online booking and this was accepted and confirmed. On the day, I telephoned to advise we would be running a little late. They said that they had a private event that day and were not accepting normal restaurant bookings. They apologised as the restaurant should have telephoned to inform us. We were visiting Amersham and had to find another venue at short notice.

  • Marcus L.1 review

    13 August 2023

    5.5/10

    Food was disappointing, meat very chewy, burger pink on inside burnt on the outside. A lot of the food was burnt. This was meant to be our anniversary meal we got married at the kings arms 6 years ago and sadly I won’t be returning any time soon. Shame.

  • Ian G.1 review

    17 August 2023

    4/10

    No staff in the restaurant when we arrived so we had to go in search of someone to serve us. We were told that several of the menu items were unavailable and when we asked what the 'specials' were we were told there were none. Waitress was very offhand. She brought the bottle of wine unopened so took it away to open it instead of doing so at the table. Took ages to return. Presented the bill without the 10% discount for hotel residents.

  • Katie H.2 reviews

    16 August 2023

    10/10

    Friendly helpful staff - enjoyed our lunch and would recommend to others

  • Erin O.1 review

    8 August 2023

    10/10

    Had a lovely meal for my mums birthday - service was brilliant, the staff were so friendly.

  • Arline H.1 review

    1 August 2023

    7/10

    Food was disappointing. Knew it was Traditional Pub Food which is fine but my Chicken burger (or a couple of goujons it turned out to be) was very over cooked. Only one chef on so quite a wait which they did warn us about and we were not in a rush. Waiting staff very pleasant and courteous though.

  • Ros A.1 review

    18 July 2023

    6/10

    The food was Luke warm. Gravy was added to my pie which I dislike!

  • Brian T.1 review

    2 June 2023

    7.5/10

    The food could not be faulted but there was no atmosphere in the dining room because we were the only diners.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

214 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.