Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Toby Carvery - Peterborough

9.2/10
66
Ashbourne Road, PE7 8BT Peterborough
British
Average price £15

Toby Carvery - Peterborough

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.2/10
Excellent66 reviews
9.3/10

Food

9.7/10

Service

8.3/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Zack F.12 reviews

    11 January 2024

    9/10

    No Mac & Cheese. Different veg to normal. No beef. Due to a 50% off promo that was running - so was very busy and obviously not enough food sadly. However, very good service.

  • paul H.1 review

    16 December 2023

    9.5/10

    food was excellent best toby we have been to meat was cooked perfectly would go back again

  • Roy F.1 review

    10 November 2023

    7.5/10

    Now refurbished. Good service and carvery was good value. Generous portion of meats. Cauliflower and sprouts slightly undercooked and a bit cold.

  • KENNETH w.1 review

    8 July 2023

    5/10

    Having booked a table for five people a week in advance, we received a telephone call at 6.15pm asking if we still required the booking as they only had roast beef on the carvery and a small amount of gammon. As it was only one hour to our booking we had no choice but to accept what was on offer. On arrival the restaurant was exceptionally hot with very little ventilation which made for an uncomfortable experience to eat in. The carvery was very sparse and half way through our meal which was approximately 8.00pm the carvery table was cleared and shut down for the night, which meant we had no choice to select any further vegetable if required. However one of the party had salmon wellington which was excellent. We feel if the restaurant is open until 9.00pm them the carvery food should be available up to that time. Our table was close to the carvery and it was extremely noisy whilst being cleared away and shut down. Not a very memorable birthday celebration.

  • David F.1 review

    12 May 2023

    10/10

    We just fancied some unadulterated British food. Where better to find it than a Toby Carvery. A top meal at sensible price in a bright uncrowded atmosphere with pleasant smiling staff. The meal was excellent and the drinks selection good.

  • Daphne R.1 review

    2 April 2023

    8/10

    Have been many times, food is excellent as is service (thank you Mario)

  • Lorraine A.2 reviews

    8 March 2023

    3/10

    The food was barely warm. We asked for the food to be reheated, it was microwaved for 2 minutes was not hot for reheated food. This should have been tested that all the food was hot using a heat test prong. The dumplings were clearly not correctly cooked. More like water and flour mixture. Perhaps the wrong portion of water was not added. There seemed a high taste of bicarb of soda or baking powder. This could have been the dumplings? Maybe they were cooked in the gravy instead of being cooked in water at the correct temperature then added to the gravy? Usually dumplings are added to a casserole or stew not just to gravy. The beef was tough and couldn't be chewed the only was to get rid was in the serviette. The cabbage was on the servery far too long. Between over heated by the heat lamps. This looked like reheated from earlier in the day. I was not even going to try eating any. In my opinion I think far too much food had been prepared. Far too many Yorkshire puddings were on display. There seemed to be a lot of food prepared on the counter for that time of day. But given my last comment - none of the food was hot. Giving me the conclusion this food is mass produced and definitely not cooked in preparation for a continuous flow of customers. The restaurant was completely empty when we arrived. The restaurant was quite cool boarder line cold. This was not the usual warm welcoming environment I have experienced in other Toby Carvery's I've eaten in. The waitress was helpful and the manager appeared to listen to my issue's. I did express my concerns with the bicarbonate of soda and baking powder which she checked with the kitchen immediately. I do think the mixture and cooking needs attention. She removed the cabbage from sale immediately. I did make the suggestion if you or your staff would not like the appearance of the food then they will loose custom from the public especially in this current climate. People will not return to their venue in future. There were several diners who left lots of food on the plates. All diner's came into the restaurant after us. I hope the management make a note of these concerns and the standards lift. I did only pay for one of the two meals. This meal was in part to say thank you to my friend who has been a rock in the past two months. I've moved house, watched a friend died, organised a funeral and had the support of this good friend to help me. It was really disappointing, I will not be returning to Toby Carvery in Peterborough. Maybe the management need to take a trip to Toby Carvery in Eastbourne to see how well they manage to provide a good hot meal and with a good turn over of foot traffic. Well done Eastbourne.

  • julie g.1 review

    5 February 2023

    7.5/10

    Staff were very friendly .. very hot in the restaurant but the food was lovely

  • Beryl M.

    Beryl M.1 review

    16 January 2023

    10/10

    Lovely food , very polite staff

  • Alex C.8 reviews

    16 January 2023

    4/10

    Unfortunately an exceptionally bad visit...'Yorkies', COOL, vegetables COOL..and worst of all ROAST POTATOES resembling 4 times oven roasted, so now looking like large Walnuts!!!! This was undoubtedly the worst meal I have experienced in a 'TOBY'..and we use quite a few of them across the UK. It's amazing what you will put up with when you feel hungry and having just driven 200 miles

  • Andrew D.1 review

    15 January 2023

    10/10

    Superb service, waiting staff very professional considering how busy it was. There was a big selection of food which is always good. The food was AMAZING!!! Probably the best Toby carvery I have been to.

  • peter w.1 review

    23 October 2022

    8.5/10

    food ok. but when ordering floater coffee waiter did not know how to do it, and took about 10 minutes to come and this and other coffeecould havebeen hotter

  • John t.3 reviews

    24 July 2022

    10/10

    this restaurant is local to us and we like the food and atmos phere my only gripe was the assistants did not ask my wife or myself if we had any allergies otherwise all was excellent thank you.

  • Roy D.1 review

    28 May 2022

    9.5/10

    We are fraaquent visitors to Toby and are used to a first rate carvery.. This latest one was no exception.

  • Keith D.1 review

    24 November 2021

    5/10

    As usual with most carveries the vegetables were not up to standard with a lot of them under cooked, generally the meat was ok.

  • Kirsten C.1 review

    31 October 2021

    10/10

    Made a reservation. Arrived friendly efficient service. Food was hot and plenty of choices. Great option for breakfasts

  • Tiffany B.2 reviews

    18 October 2021

    10/10

    Nice to be greeted with friendliness and the lovely chatty guy with the bandana on was amazing and also the chef cutting the meat for us was very friendly thank you so much, lovely team on tonight.

  • Adrian W.1 review

    2 October 2021

    8/10

    Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely veggies but a little disappointed with amount of neat given at the carvery. Another slice would have been good.

  • Karen T.3 reviews

    1 October 2021

    10/10

    Great place to eat, food always delicious, hot and fresh. Staff always friendly and welcoming. Well worth a visit, if you go once you will continue to keep going. Very happy customer

  • Jo C.1 review

    17 September 2021

    8/10

    We enjoyed the carvery but the vegetables were cold which spoilt the meal. We hope to return on 1st Oct so it would be fab if it could be improved by then please

  • Angela W.4 reviews

    15 August 2021

    10/10

    Good food good service but the place we was seated at was not good as was put in the middle of the restaurant and I suffer from anxiety and felt uncomfortable that was the only issue for myself

  • David s.1 review

    24 July 2021

    10/10

    Brilliant visit. Back to normal where we get our own carvery and the quality was superb. Staff where amazing throughout our visit and we felt very looked after from start to finish.

  • Helen M.1 review

    26 July 2021

    8.5/10

    Good service, really good food,and very accommodating as my daughter is lactose intolerant, the waitresses was very helpful, and there was plenty to choose from .

  • Vicki S.4 reviews

    23 July 2021

    10/10

    All the staff were welcoming and friendly, the food was hot and tasty with a good variety of veggies, good value overall, I would recommend this Toby

  • Alex C.8 reviews

    18 July 2021

    5/10

    Prompt attention when entering & off to available table. No 'Drinks List' offered; verbal & tablet options for drinks only offered. Food was warm, NOT hot. No complaint made at the time as we felt hungry. Appreciated the varied selection of veg (although their Carrots seemed to be in very short supply and the big crime; no Snips!!...BUT, they had a good selection of meats available....including Lamb :-), [not seen this on a Midweek visit?]...but then we did pay more to eat a Roast Meal on a Sunday. Found it strange that 'Dumplings in Gravy' were offered?

  • Heather G.2 reviews

    14 July 2021

    8.5/10

    The food was very good, but the amount served up was much too big for a normal person to eat. Meat was cooked to perfection and very juicy the Yorkshire puddings were far too Big. The vegetable were good and there was 2 sorts of roast potatoes and macaroni cheese. The mash potatoes wasn’t very nice to sloppy.

  • Angie R.1 review

    3 July 2021

    5.5/10

    A very friendly & lovely bloke took our drinks order but the rest of the staff were not nice or friendly at all, in fact one woman was downright rude! .. when I asked her nicely if there was any mashed potato (because the dish was empty) she snapped back at me NO ! .. She needs to learn some manners. We won’t be going there again! It used to be nice.

  • SHIRLEY R.1 review

    17 June 2021

    8/10

    Warmly welcomed and shown table. Asked if we knew procedure and if we wanted drinks. Came back to us when we ready to order. Lovely polite young guy with beautiful eyes. I left my hand sanitizer on the table when I left restaurant and he bought it out to me in car park. LOVELY GUY deserves to do well. Thank you

  • Vicki S.4 reviews

    11 June 2021

    10/10

    Food was yummy, staff were welcoming and friendly, especially Mario, quality and variety of food was good, well done to everyone at Peterborough Hampton

  • - -1 review

    16 September 2019

    10/10

    Excellent

Tripadvisor reviews

1103 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly booked for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.